Bread Machine Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was a so-so recipe. I tried it as it's written and it didn't rise well, was drier than a bone and didn't taste like garlic at all. I decided to try it again with a twist: 1 c. water 1 tbsp. EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) 1/4 c. milk 1 tbsp. sugar 1 1/2 tsp. salt 4 cloves minced fresh garlic 3 c. flour 1 1/2 tsp. active dry yeast 1/2 tsp. oregano 1 tsp. rosemary To really get the taste of the herbs, I heated the oil slightly and added the herbs to really get it going. Then I added it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
This bread had a lovely flavor and was excellent with my veggie spaghetti. I was a little confused when I took it out, as it had risen nicely but after baking it had fallen. It didn't affect the texture or flavor at all...honestly, it was a more manageable loaf, lol. I think next time I'll try the breadsticks like another person said they did. I also thought about making sandwich sized rolls out of this. Will definitely make it again, and with fresh basil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eielson Afb, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
Excellent! Even better when sliced, buttered with garlic butter and put under boiler to toast. Good with Italian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
It didn't rise in the bread machine. Most people said the garlic taste wasn't strong enough, so I added a half tsp. but it was too strong. It was also really crumbly and the crust was too flaky. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This is one of the best recipes for the bread machine I have. I do things slightly differently. I use olive oil instead of butter, fresh oregano from my garden chopped instead of parsley, 2 t. garlic cloves crushed instead of powder, and splenda instead of sugar. I put almost everything in the warm water first than the flour than the oregano and yeast go on top. The taste with these changes is excellant. (I tried it to the letter first and didn't like it.) If you find the bread doesn't raise very much just use the "scale this recipe" to adjust it. I find that 16-18 servings uses my 2lb. machine to capacity better than leaving it at 12 (the original setting on the recipe.) Good luck! ~jllebow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I thought this bread was good. Would have been better if I choose the medium crust setting on the bread maker rather than the light. I also added italian seasoning. Very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
The flavor is phenomenol! I used fresh basil and 1/3 c half and half as suggested by someone to use the milk. It definitely wasn't enough. I kept adding until the dough looked moist. I will try original recipe first next time and then experiment. It didn't raise well either. Once again, the flavor was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORANGERY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Bread has good texture and taste but is not very garlicky. I used Basil instead of Parsley like another reviewer had said and I thought that was pretty good. Overall the recipe turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Made this bread to serve along with cheese fondue. I baked the bread in the oven. It was very good with just a hint of garlic. It was soft and still good a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This bread was wonderful! After I started I realized I was out of parsley so I used two tablespoons basil instead. This bread had an amazing basil garlic flavor...not sure why some people's bread lacked garlic flavor, maybe the brand of garlic powder?? Anyway, followed directions to a T except the the parsley/basil switch and this is a new favorite. It does make a somewhat short loaf, but when it's cut it looks like real sliced loaf bread, not that tall bm bread. Made eggplant sandwiches on this bread toasted....mmmmm! A+++ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States