Bread Machine Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I think there's a step missing in this recipe! The dough needs to have a second rising after it comes out of the bread machine and before it's dimpled. Trust me! I thought it sounded odd, but followed the directions to the letter and it failed miserably. The flavour was good, but really heavy dough and no browning. Maybe that is why the writer suggests you cover with plastic wrap while waiting for the oven to preheat??? Also recipe calls for 1 Tbsp of rosemary in dough, and then sprinkle with "remaining" rosemary??? I will try this one again, allowing the dough to rise before baking and will likely be back to rate it a 5 star as I think that was the only problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was fantastic!! I used to buy this from Panera Bread...never again!! I will make it myself from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RUBES1
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was nice, though a bit dry. I think it needed more oil on top. I used all whole wheat flour instead of white flour and substituted fresh thyme for the rosemary. Next time I will toss some chopped garlic in olive oil & rub over before baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Great recipe, will definitely do again. I made some minor changes: substituted 1 tsp dried rosemary for fresh, added 1 tbs sugar to feed the yeast and used half bread flour and half whole wheat. I put the dough on an oiled breadstone and like some other reviewers put it on the middle shelf of a cold oven with shallow pan of hot water on the bottom shelf. I let it rise for 30 minutes then turned the oven to 375 and baked it for 25 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is so good, I am now known by it. Every potluck, get-together, family gathering...I have to bring it or I hear about it all night. The only change I have made is to add sea salt to the top before popping it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I just took this out of my oven. WOW!!! It is sooo good & I can see how it would make a great pizza crust. I also use Kosher salt. I did just like the recipe said & I am so happy with the outcome. Thanks for sharing.. Jazzie..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Amazing recipe! I made it in the bread machine, and it was great! I even substituted rosemary for 1/4 tsp of dried parsley, the kind that comes in the shaker, and the fresh garlic for 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, and it came out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I have made this so many times now and love it! I add 1 Tbl Pampered Chef Italian seasoning into the batter. Couldn't be easier! Great as a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Easy to make and the family enjoyed (even 3 young kids). I did use whole wheat flour instead of plain. I would probably enjoy the recipe better using plain flour. But still a good recipe and easy the make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dinnerpartyqueen
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
this was great recipe but I did change a couple things from other recipes I have. the dough was very dry when it was mixing in the machine so I added another 1/4 cup water. When I put the loaf in the oven I put it on the middle rack and a pan with hot water on the bottom rack. I let it sit in the cold oven for 25 minutes, then turned the oven on and let it bake for about 30 minutes. AFter 25, keep an eye on it. My loaf was HUGE! size of a pizza pan. Everyone loved it!! I'll post a picture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dinnerpartyqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States