Bread Machine Challah for Shabbat and Festivals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This recipe just came out on the site today & I decided to try it & I am so glad I did. Wonderful flavor with a chewy texture that was exactly what I was looking for. The dough is very easy to work with & I turned out a beautiful, shiny, delicious work of art. Thank You for the recipe, I will be sure to share with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I gave this recipe to my 10 year old daughter so she could bake challah for the family every Shabbat and have a recipe to call her own. This is the best tasting challah. She has followed the recipe exactly and it comes out great every time. She recently made this challah for another family and they were asking for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myfoursonsks
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I thought this bread came out very well. I have never had Challah bread before this, so I don't really know how it should taste. It was delicious though. It was simple and I had no issues with the dough at all. It was very nice and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfoursonsks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyskitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was a delicious bread and very simple to make. I would suggest increasing the sugar if you would like your bread a little sweeter. I sprinkled the braided loaf with a sugar and flour topping before baking. It came out delicious. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Best Challah I have ever made in 20 years... The only thing I changed was adding 6 tbsp of sugar not 2. From the second I touched the dough in the bread maker I knew that I had Challah gold on my hands... will never use another recipe again. BEST EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
by far the best tasting and easiest challah I have ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Finally found a great recipe for Challah. Even using 1 cup of w.w. flour and adding grains and seeds doesn't diminish the correct moisture to dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very tasty, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaF
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I had never made Challah before. This was so easy and everyone was impressed. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Was very easy to make, I didnt braid it just put it in an oiled bread pan and let it rise over night. Everyone at my house loved it!! thanks for post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States