Bread Machine Challah for Shabbat and Festivals Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was my first attempt at Challah and it came out perfect. I added more sugar as others suggested, other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
insane. i used the 6 tbs of sugar per other comments. insane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I liked the recipe, except I had a little trouble with it. First, it was too soupy and I had to add about 1 1/4 cups flour to bring it to the right consistency/texture. I also added a little more sugar as a few other reviewers mentioned, but I think I missed not having honey in this bread--an ingredient that all other Challah recipes I've tried have. I will try it again, though, because it seemed to work so well for others. Maybe I was just having an off night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Too salty, otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe is FABULOUS!! Definitely the most favorite in this household. Made it exactly the way it says. Easy! Easy! Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
It was/is awesome! The bread didn't take as long to bake as directed. 28 mins, but that could mean my oven is hotter or I made it longer and thinner than what they said. My ropes were about 16 inches long and thicker than a thumb. Next time I will take my time braiding it. I was worried I was handling it too much. I'm glad I kept an eye on it in the oven...not opening the door...I just turned on the light and looked in. I'm going to buy an oven thermometer. I can't think of anything to change about this recipe. It was great hot with honey and butter soon after it came out of the oven and it was great cold the next day. I served it with some day aged 16 bean soup made in the crockpot. Delish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This bread was a big hit at our last Rosh Hashanah meal! It came out absolutely perfect! The loaves were beautiful and tasted heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather_in_VA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robyn
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
So good! I sweetened it up using 6 Tbsp. sugar (as another suggested) since I made this for Rosh Hashanah, added raisins, and sprinkled the loaf with sugar prior to baking. What a lovely, sweet (as I made it) loaf, that I will continue to use for Rosh Hashanah! FYI-it does need at least 1 1/2 c. more flour than recipe states. For weekly challah, I use one additional Tbsp. sugar, 1 c. whole wheat flour for part of the flour, and occasionally add raisins when bread machine "beeps," then braid into 2 loaves. Baking at 350 for 10 min., then decreasing temp to 325 for 10-15 more minutes works best for my loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I loved it the only thing I did differently was add 2 tbs. of honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Finally found a great recipe for Challah. Even using 1 cup of w.w. flour and adding grains and seeds doesn't diminish the correct moisture to dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States