Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I'm very experienced with using bread machine recipes, yet I found this bread to be extremely disappointing. The dough turned out like batter and was impossible to shape because it was so sticky. Even working in extra flour was no help. If I'd had extra time, I would have added more flour and more yeast, and put it back through an extra knead and rise cycle. Unfortunately, I didn't have the luxury of time, since I was getting ready for a family holiday function. I'm sure the loaf would have been fine (though perhaps dense) if I'd just poured the batter--um, dough-- into a pan and baked it, but I was really hoping this recipe would yield a loaf I could shape beautifully for our holiday. So in my frustration I threw the dough/batter away. I won't try this recipe again--and this is the first recipe at allrecipes.com that has been so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I have been searching for some time now for a great Challah dough recipe, and this is it! My mother purchased store bought Challah and I brought 2 loaves of this Challah and no-one ate my mom's! I just floured up my hands to combat the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Thank you! This was wonderful. My husband loved helping me make this, and it will truly be an enjoyment on our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Great recipe - makes excellent French toast next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This dough is fantastic! Chewy, yeasty, sweet. Makes a better challah than a deli! It makes 2 medium sized loaves, and we often braid one, place it on slightly greased waxed paper, then a ziploc bag, and pop it in the freezer. We can defrost it, let it rise, and bake it weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
The dough was so sticky when it came out of the bread machine, it was almost impossible to work. It didn't rise as it should have and had a distinct taste of oil after I baked it. I probably wouldn't use this recipe again, unless I made some changes, perhaps substituting something for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe. I've made challah in my bread machine before using the recipe that came with the machine but this is so much better. I use High-Gluten flour which I find makes it nice and dense. It's a huge hit in my house! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Excellent! This was the second loaf of bread I ever made and it was a huge hit! I also added about 1 1/2 tbsp poppy seeds. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Awesome! It was a huge hit with the family and really easy to do. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Quick and easy. The only change i made was to add double honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States