Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I made this 2 weeks ago and added one cup of whole wheat flour to the recipe. It tasted heavenly! I froze one challah and used it last week. It has frozen the best out of any other challah I have tried to freeze in the past. The thing is to wrap it well before putting it in the freezer. It is hard to find good bread machine challah's but this was def one of the best I have eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Made this tonight 4 the first time, with great results!! ;) We ate it with dinner and then I made sandwhiches for my hubby's lunch tomorrow. I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I sell bread and this bread is a best-seller for me. I braid and put in a 9x5 loaf pan. I cook them for 19 minutes at 350 and turn it out onto a wire rack. As long as the center doesn't cave in (even if it's not browned on the bottom), it's done and will be very light and moist if you wait until completely cooled before cutting. My favorite is having a slice of challah with mayo and a slice of fresh tomato (and I don't really care for the veges) YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Bumstead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
WOW! What an easy recipe! I did have to add extra flour during the beginning of the cycle, but I have to either add more water or dough to EVERY recipe in the bread maker to get the dough to be the right consistency :) Fresh out of the oven this bread is DIVINE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike11C
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I experienced the same thing that I have read in the other reviews. The dough came out of the bread machine very sticky like a thick batter. At first I thought that I had measured the flour incorrectly. I just threw it on a floured surface and started kneading more flour into it. Finally, after about two more cups of flour, it looked like bread dough. I followed the rest of the instructions and it turned out really well. My wife and I both really liked it. The only alteration that I made was to substitute molasses for the honey because I didn't have any. I will next time because I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike11C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is a very good recipe but really didn't raise as well as it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I thought this recipe was great as is. I've made it twice this week, and everyone loved it. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lana P.
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Challahleuhah! This challah bread recipe is fabulous and melt in your mouth delicious! I added an extra cup of flour (5 in total)and allowed my loaves to rise quietly overnight. What a difference; lighter, flakier, and tastier! The best is making french toast from this recipe; I had some egg wash left over so I just added some vanilla, cinnamon and milk and made french toast. Unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This is pretty good...but I have a question. I'm confused. So many reviewers say this dough is sticky. So..the first time I used it, I added extra flour. The dough was anything but sticky. It was rather heavy and didn't rise easily. I then made it according to the exact instructions...it still seemed heavy. Could it be because I am using unbleached bread flour? I'm making several loaves as a fund raiser. I've made about 8 loaves already and 2 of those loaves still remained rather heavy and doughy...we will keep those for ourselves. I would actually like the dough to be a little lighter. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This recipe makes the best challah! I've "won" several bake-off's with friends who say they make great challah. The only thing I do differently is that I up the flour to 5 cups so my dough isn't so sticky coming out of the bread machine, but you can't beat the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States