Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family loves this recipe. Some folks have mentioned that the dough is sticky...I only noticed this to be the case once when I ran out of bread flour and substituted all purpose flour. This challah is absolutely perfect and bakes up beautifully. This is the best bread I have ever baked! It is very easy to braid and rises fluffy and high. Just make sure you are using bread flour as the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
First time I've ever made Challah and it was a success! Very good recipe, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this after trying out the recipe for Bread Machine Challah 1. This recipe makes a dough that is easier to work with and a final presentation that is nicer looking than Challah 1, but Challah 1 is by far better tasting. We had to restrain ourselves from eating 2 loaves of Challah 1 right out of the oven. I almost threw away Challah II after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YankeesFan
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. The dough came out of the machine cleanly and was really easy to work with. I didn't wrap in plastic after braiding, instead I let the shaped dough rise on a baking sheet in a preheated oven @125 degrees - takes less time and results in a better rise. Baking time on the center rack was just a little over 25 minutes and the challah looked and smelled fantastic - the consistency was just right and completely even throughout. The recipe as written yields two medium size challahs. I think we have a new family favorite! Thanks so much for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YankeesFan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Awesome! Only change I made was based on reviews, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour, it came out PERFECT. Made it for Easter and already have requests for me to make more. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this bread twice: 1st time dough was sticy added flour but it did not rise enough. 2nd time added more flour little less water and oil still did not rise enough. Going to try again with more yeast. Even through all of this it still was the best tasting sweet bread I've ever made. I was making it my traditional coffee can method for EASTER BLESSED BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very tasty. Makes a good amount of challah - 4 people ate less than one of the two loaves with lunch. After reading other reviews, I used more bread flour than the recipe called for. I made my 4 cups heaping then added a little more (so probably approx 4.5 cups total). I would use more yeast next time - maybe 2 3/4 t. or 1T? Other than that, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I tried this recipe twice with different jars of yeast but both times it did not rise at all. I then tried another challah recipe with the same yeast and it worked perfectly. I even tried adding additional flour and yeast as other reviewers suggested but it still refused to rise. In my experience, when using a bread machine (that lets the dough rise for an hour) after braiding it should only need to rise for another 20 minutes or so. I don't know why this recipe didn't work for me, but I urge caution!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I've never braided a bread dough but was inspired by this recipe to try it out and it worked great! I was thrilled with the end result. Not only is it beautiful, it was fun to make and the flavor and texture are fantastic. It slices up beautifully. I'm glad it made two loaves since I'm hoping to try making french toast out of any that is left tomorrow. Many reviewers mentioned the dough being too sticky so I added about 1/4 cup additional flour. I think it would have been fine without it though. You just need to flour your board while you are working it into ropes. You don't want it to be too dry. I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by shuki
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This is my favorite challah ever! I don't have a bread machine so I mix it and knead it by hand, then place in a covered oiled bowl for an hour and a half, punch it down to get out air bubbles, then let it rise for another 30 minutes before braiding it. Every time I make the challah everybody loves it and always asks for the recipe. This past shabbat the challah was literally gone in under 1 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States