Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was pretty easy to make and turned out good. Based on the reviews below, I did increase the flour to 4 and a half cups, but I found the dough to still be really sticky and hard for me to work with. So I kneaded in some extra flour, until I could work with it easier. Probably next time I will increase the flour to 5 cups and try that out. Other than that, it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes. It's excellent not only for holidays, but others. I just use 4 1/2 cups of bread machine flour, instead of 4 cups (hence the 4 stars.) I make 2 loaves, and give one to my happy neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I've made this bread twice now and both times it took over 2 hours for the dough to double in size, even when I increased the yeast to 3 tsps. Otherwise, no complaints - easy, tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I anticipated needing to add extra flour -- I ended up using 6 1/2 cups of bread flour! This made the dough very easy to work with, and I got fantastic results from the final baked product. Looking forward to making another batch! Addendum: Tried this with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 cups regular all-purpose flour and was great - don't see the point of using bread flour! Increased the sugar to ~3/4 cup and honey to ~4-5 tablespoons to compensate for whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
very very good. I made it on the quick cycle on my bread machine and it was a bit under done but we like challah a little gooey :) I did add 1/2c extra flour as per other postings. Probably ok w/o the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Excellent on the first try. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
since I discovered this recipe I make it every week, and it never fails. all my guests are raving about it, and tell me I should open a challah business. don't know about the business, but I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I made this for Rosh Hashanah. Instead of braiding it, I made it into a round loaf by rolling it into a snake with tappered ends, then rolling it up from one end, like a big spiral. People were taking seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is a super easy recipe to follow. I made no changes in the recipe and it turned out to be better than the $6.00 a loaf bread at the farmers market. Very easy to braid to. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mad Hatter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
the best bread recipe I've ever made...it doesn't last a day in my house. I did take the previous reviewer's suggestion and added a 1/2 cup more flour so it is not sticky but completely manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States