Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My family loves this bread and it comes out perfect every time. My kids love the sweetness. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have made this recipe many times over the last 10+ years - it is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Just made this for the first time. I've tried several bread machine challah recipes and this is the very best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This recipe was actually perfect in the flour/water ratio. The dough should be slightly sticky/moist. And I got the right texture. Remember it makes a huge, and I mean HUGE difference in different climates/humidity etc. I would err with the least and then check the dough mid cycle to see if you need more flour or water. Meanwhile, I did two braids from this recipe, and baked up great. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Followed this recipe exactly except I added sesame seeds on top before baking and it turned out amazing! This was my first time making Challah, and only my second time eating it. My husband and I finish off the entire loaf because it was so good! I ended up braiding both halves and freezing one in a greased freezer bag. I can't wait to bake it up in a few weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Too gooey. Did not work at all. Did it twice. Same result twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcelo Cukierman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I spent today making this recipe and Bread Machine Challah I. I have to say I like Bread Machine Challah I much more. For this recipe, I did what other people suggested and used 4 1/2 cups of flower instead of 4, but the dough still came out too sticky. When I braided the dough at let it rise again, it sort of ran together and lost it's shape. When I baked it, the loaves came out a little flat. They taste good, and are moist. I think that perhaps the wetting and covering braids with plastic wrap contributed to the over-softness of the dough. Instead I would suggest rolling out the braid strands with flour to help them keep separated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Fabulous recipe. Have made it numerous times and it has never failed me. However, I've used regular flour instead of bread flour. It's never been sticky like the other complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe a dozen or more times. If you follow the measurements exactly the dough comes out perfect. If you use more honey, or measure the water in a measuring cup that lets you go over the one cup mark it's easy to get sticky dough. This is easily fixed by turning out on a floured surface a folding a few times. I was raised on challah and this is my favorite - its the only recipe I use now (although I do tend to use 1/2 white 1/2 wheat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States