Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This dough is fantastic! Chewy, yeasty, sweet. Makes a better challah than a deli! It makes 2 medium sized loaves, and we often braid one, place it on slightly greased waxed paper, then a ziploc bag, and pop it in the freezer. We can defrost it, let it rise, and bake it weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
The dough was so sticky when it came out of the bread machine, it was almost impossible to work. It didn't rise as it should have and had a distinct taste of oil after I baked it. I probably wouldn't use this recipe again, unless I made some changes, perhaps substituting something for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
Excellent recipe. I've made challah in my bread machine before using the recipe that came with the machine but this is so much better. I use High-Gluten flour which I find makes it nice and dense. It's a huge hit in my house! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Excellent! This was the second loaf of bread I ever made and it was a huge hit! I also added about 1 1/2 tbsp poppy seeds. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
Awesome! It was a huge hit with the family and really easy to do. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
Quick and easy. The only change i made was to add double honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It came out of the machine too sticky to work with. Had to add alot more flour. It tasted nice & sweet, but took forever to make. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wow! This turned out fantastic. Followed the recipe exactly (except for the addition of 1/2 cup raisins) and found no problems at all. Resist the temptation to work in too much more flour when shaping the loaves. It's a slightly sticky dough, but managable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Excellent challah! I followed the directions as written, with no problems. The challah was delicious. My entire family loved it as well as our Jewish neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This is a fantastic recipe! I used to bake Challah in a bowl and not a bread machine, but now I use this easy and delicious recipe. I serve it every Friday night and I get so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States