Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yummy yummy. Be sure you use bread flour, otherwise the dough might be too sticky. When I first tried this recipe I halved it and the loaf did not rise. I tried it again as written and it was perfect. My daughter's nursery school class ate a loaf for snack and not a crumb was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I must admit that I was rather skeptical when I first read this recipe. I did not believe a bread machine could produce a tasty Challah bread without using butter. I was really surprised at the results. I don't think I will ever make it by hand again. It was soooo easy and very yummy! Every one in the house was drooling for more. I have made it several times now and have even made the dough into rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe 4 times in the bread machine now, and it's always been great. Usually it is very sticky to handle, so flour *everything*--your hands, your board,...and have extra flour on hand for frequent re-dosing. I enjoy adding 1 cup plumped golden raisins just before braiding, and everyone loves it. The center usually ends up chewy (whether with our without raisins), but my family seems to prefer it that way. I imagine if you baked it longer it might cook more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is the best sweet bread ever.. My husband and son just love it.. We eat one whole loaf the day it is made. And 2 days later the other one is gone as well.. Thank you for the racipe.. God Bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is by far my favorite bread recipe! It is a nice sweet dense bread. I have made it several times. Everyone loves it and I have had quite a few requests for the recipe. I do notice the moisture of the dough can sometimes be dependant upon the weather. But saying that I have never had it fail for me. I do sometimes add a smidgen more yeast (I use the stuff in the jar). Sometimes I will also make one large loaf instead of two small ones. I just love this recipe it is definately a staple in my recipe box, and THANK YOU for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I've made this several times and it's always a big hit with my family. I don't have a breadmachine, I just mix it up by hand. Great texture & it makes wonderful day-after open faced pb sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I'm very experienced with using bread machine recipes, yet I found this bread to be extremely disappointing. The dough turned out like batter and was impossible to shape because it was so sticky. Even working in extra flour was no help. If I'd had extra time, I would have added more flour and more yeast, and put it back through an extra knead and rise cycle. Unfortunately, I didn't have the luxury of time, since I was getting ready for a family holiday function. I'm sure the loaf would have been fine (though perhaps dense) if I'd just poured the batter--um, dough-- into a pan and baked it, but I was really hoping this recipe would yield a loaf I could shape beautifully for our holiday. So in my frustration I threw the dough/batter away. I won't try this recipe again--and this is the first recipe at allrecipes.com that has been so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I have been searching for some time now for a great Challah dough recipe, and this is it! My mother purchased store bought Challah and I brought 2 loaves of this Challah and no-one ate my mom's! I just floured up my hands to combat the sticky dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Thank you! This was wonderful. My husband loved helping me make this, and it will truly be an enjoyment on our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Great recipe - makes excellent French toast next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States