Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I made this bread exactly as the recipe indicates. I used the dough setting on my bread machine and then proofed and baked. The Jewish family I made this for was ecstatic. I'm going back for my fourth jewish holiday with their family and they always want me to bring a loaf. I have no complaints. Sticky doughs require extra flour on the surface you are using it on and on your hands. I find that with a small bowl of flour on the side I can keep it from being sticky and it turns out lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was just okay. Not great, not bad per se. I have been having bad luck with bread lately, so maybe it was just me. Didn't rise nearly like the picture implies. And yeah, the dough was REALLY sticky. I may have added too much flour at the kneading stage, but I don't think I would bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
my family devoured this challah in 10 minutes. it was the hit of the dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If you read through the previous reviews, the 1 constant remark “the bread is sticky” appears. We added an additional ¾ c flour to our bread machine (using a total of 4 ½ c flour) which did the trick. What’s the point of using the bread machine if you’re kneading more (in this case A LOT) of extra flour in the end? Our finished product turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The dough was extremely sticky but after adding a ton of flour to it, it became workable and we were able to braid it. The end product was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This is the best Challah recipe! I had just gotten a bread maker that I wanted to try out so I baked this for Sabbath dinner one night instead of buying our Challah. Three generations of family gave it rave reviews! My cousins were fighting over the last piece! We are Jewish and we eat Challah AT LEAST once a week so we all know good Challah when we taste it! My sister taught me that you know your Challah is cooked completely when it sounds hollow when you knock on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is a fantastic, easy recipe. I doubled the honey and added a little extra yeast, and both loaves turned out beautifully. Next time I will probably triple the honey or add 1/2 cup of honey and then decrease the white sugar; but one thing is for certain - I will be making this again! Update - here's a tip - if you are using quite a bit of honey, mix it in with the water and have it count in your water measurement, otherwise you end up having to add a lot more flour and can end up with a door stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Very good, easy recipe. This recipe is also good by adding one cup of whole wheat flour to replace one of the cups of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Looked and tasted great, but I couldn't figure out when it was done so it was a bit undercooked on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yummy yummy. Be sure you use bread flour, otherwise the dough might be too sticky. When I first tried this recipe I halved it and the loaf did not rise. I tried it again as written and it was perfect. My daughter's nursery school class ate a loaf for snack and not a crumb was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States