Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I found the same as many previous users, this dough came out uber sticky and mine actually didn't rise much either. Since I already had the dough made, I went ahead and baked it. It tastes decent, although I found it a little too salty. I think I will try again with the adjustments of adding more flour and using a little less salt. Do people think additional yeast would help this recipe as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I had originally come to find a recipe for French bread but when I saw this gorgeous challah..I HAD to make it. Hubs had never had challah before and I hadn't had it in ages. It was INCREDIBLE. I mean, baker's quality. I used APF since I never keep bread flour in the house and I didn't use honey as I was all out and had no problem working with the dough whatsoever. Hubs wanted to eat the whole loaf in one sitting!!! Kids loved it too. I'm not sure if the lack of honey/use of APF changed the texture or anything but I had no sticky issues at all so maybe that'll help someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
With a lot of tweaking, this recipe turns out well. I live in the Deep South, where the humidity changes everything in the kitchen. By adding a little flour during the kneading process in the bread machine and during the braiding, I found the baked loaves to be as pretty as they should be. The baking sheet or pan needs to be greased for the challah to completely come off of it. I tried using the beaten whole egg for the glaze and found that it made the bread taste strongly of egg, which should never happen with challah. The solution: use egg white. I am grateful to have found this recipe, because I have carpal tunnel syndrome and need a machine to knead for me. Thanks to the person who shared it for making my family's Shabbat more enjoyable, with no need to run to a special bakery for bread, call ahead for it, and so forth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Necessary to ad 1/2 cup of flour; the doubt is very sticky. But the result is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Does anyone know how to convert from bread machine to non-bread machine? Love this bread! BUT, I always need to add more flour since it ends up too sticky to work with. Once I braid it, let it rise and then bake, the braids lose all their definition and it looks more like a loaf bread than a challah... any ideas???? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved it !! It is a keeper. For my own family likes I substituted one stick of butter for the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because we love butter baked in bread. Based on previous reviews; I added in extra egg for 3 eggs total and added in 1/2 cup more flour for a total of 4 1/2 cups of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Needed 5 cups of flour and 1 tablespoon of SAF Red yeast, but with those changes it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my favorite challah recipe - I use it weekly and get rave reviews. I only gave it 4 stars bc as it is written, it's not as good as I make it :). Add more honey, some extra flour (including 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of all white flour), and 2 TBSP of yeast (instead of teaspoons) for the perfect challah. Mine doesn't end up rising as much as other challah - and if I cook it perfectly (350 for 23 minutes or so), it comes out deliciously sticky and sweet. Pieces pull apart and guests keep coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have been making this for about 2 years. This is hands down the easiest and tastiest Challah. No one can get enough of it! I have made it exactly as written and it comes out great. However these days, I do not measure the honey so tend to put a little more in. I also add an extra 1/2 C of flour and 1/4 tsp yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I agree with another lady that said the dough was so 'sticky'. I kept adding flour, more flour, etc. and ended up with 2 small loaves of rather heavy,dense breads.... not the two pleasing small loaves I was hoping for. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cactuslady
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States