Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
With a lot of tweaking, this recipe turns out well. I live in the Deep South, where the humidity changes everything in the kitchen. By adding a little flour during the kneading process in the bread machine and during the braiding, I found the baked loaves to be as pretty as they should be. The baking sheet or pan needs to be greased for the challah to completely come off of it. I tried using the beaten whole egg for the glaze and found that it made the bread taste strongly of egg, which should never happen with challah. The solution: use egg white. I am grateful to have found this recipe, because I have carpal tunnel syndrome and need a machine to knead for me. Thanks to the person who shared it for making my family's Shabbat more enjoyable, with no need to run to a special bakery for bread, call ahead for it, and so forth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Necessary to ad 1/2 cup of flour; the doubt is very sticky. But the result is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Does anyone know how to convert from bread machine to non-bread machine? Love this bread! BUT, I always need to add more flour since it ends up too sticky to work with. Once I braid it, let it rise and then bake, the braids lose all their definition and it looks more like a loaf bread than a challah... any ideas???? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved it !! It is a keeper. For my own family likes I substituted one stick of butter for the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because we love butter baked in bread. Based on previous reviews; I added in extra egg for 3 eggs total and added in 1/2 cup more flour for a total of 4 1/2 cups of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Needed 5 cups of flour and 1 tablespoon of SAF Red yeast, but with those changes it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my favorite challah recipe - I use it weekly and get rave reviews. I only gave it 4 stars bc as it is written, it's not as good as I make it :). Add more honey, some extra flour (including 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of all white flour), and 2 TBSP of yeast (instead of teaspoons) for the perfect challah. Mine doesn't end up rising as much as other challah - and if I cook it perfectly (350 for 23 minutes or so), it comes out deliciously sticky and sweet. Pieces pull apart and guests keep coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have been making this for about 2 years. This is hands down the easiest and tastiest Challah. No one can get enough of it! I have made it exactly as written and it comes out great. However these days, I do not measure the honey so tend to put a little more in. I also add an extra 1/2 C of flour and 1/4 tsp yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I agree with another lady that said the dough was so 'sticky'. I kept adding flour, more flour, etc. and ended up with 2 small loaves of rather heavy,dense breads.... not the two pleasing small loaves I was hoping for. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cactuslady
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I've been using this challah recipe in my bread maker for over 4 years and every time, the dough comes out wonderful! It's never been too sticky for me. A little more flour helps me to roll out the strands easily. Sometimes I mix the flours (white & stone ground whole wheat) and it still works just as well. After the machine is finished mixing, kneading & rising the dough, I braid it in a six-strand braid, let it rise some more, brush it with the egg wash, put sesame seeds on and bake it. I've never had a failure with this recipe or this method of braiding. It's simple, easy to make, and yields delicious challah. A Jewish friend told me it looks just like the challah his mother made when he was growing up. I must be doing something right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Muscat, Masqat, Oman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Delicious!!! So soft and moist! I wish I could braid it tighter so that it looked prettier like the photo! Absolutely wonderful! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States