Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Love this recipe! I used some whole wheat flour cut some sugar, and they still turned out to be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I tried this recipe using 2 cups bread flour, and 2 1/2 cups white wheat flour and it turned out perfect! My 4 kids almost ate the entire first loaf with their dinner tonight. With the remaining loaf, I sliced and am preparing a French Toast Casserole in the a.m. I've never made challah before, and never even tasted it so I'm not sure what to compare it to, but regardless, it's a wonderful bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was a hit at our family christmas party! So glad I made two batches. Adding 1/2 cup extra flour made a perfect doughball and braided easily. The family wants me to make it again before next christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I found the same as many previous users, this dough came out uber sticky and mine actually didn't rise much either. Since I already had the dough made, I went ahead and baked it. It tastes decent, although I found it a little too salty. I think I will try again with the adjustments of adding more flour and using a little less salt. Do people think additional yeast would help this recipe as well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I had originally come to find a recipe for French bread but when I saw this gorgeous challah..I HAD to make it. Hubs had never had challah before and I hadn't had it in ages. It was INCREDIBLE. I mean, baker's quality. I used APF since I never keep bread flour in the house and I didn't use honey as I was all out and had no problem working with the dough whatsoever. Hubs wanted to eat the whole loaf in one sitting!!! Kids loved it too. I'm not sure if the lack of honey/use of APF changed the texture or anything but I had no sticky issues at all so maybe that'll help someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
With a lot of tweaking, this recipe turns out well. I live in the Deep South, where the humidity changes everything in the kitchen. By adding a little flour during the kneading process in the bread machine and during the braiding, I found the baked loaves to be as pretty as they should be. The baking sheet or pan needs to be greased for the challah to completely come off of it. I tried using the beaten whole egg for the glaze and found that it made the bread taste strongly of egg, which should never happen with challah. The solution: use egg white. I am grateful to have found this recipe, because I have carpal tunnel syndrome and need a machine to knead for me. Thanks to the person who shared it for making my family's Shabbat more enjoyable, with no need to run to a special bakery for bread, call ahead for it, and so forth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by galielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Necessary to ad 1/2 cup of flour; the doubt is very sticky. But the result is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Does anyone know how to convert from bread machine to non-bread machine? Love this bread! BUT, I always need to add more flour since it ends up too sticky to work with. Once I braid it, let it rise and then bake, the braids lose all their definition and it looks more like a loaf bread than a challah... any ideas???? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved it !! It is a keeper. For my own family likes I substituted one stick of butter for the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because we love butter baked in bread. Based on previous reviews; I added in extra egg for 3 eggs total and added in 1/2 cup more flour for a total of 4 1/2 cups of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Needed 5 cups of flour and 1 tablespoon of SAF Red yeast, but with those changes it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States