Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Does anyone know how to convert from bread machine to non-bread machine? Love this bread! BUT, I always need to add more flour since it ends up too sticky to work with. Once I braid it, let it rise and then bake, the braids lose all their definition and it looks more like a loaf bread than a challah... any ideas???? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Loved it !! It is a keeper. For my own family likes I substituted one stick of butter for the 1/2 cup vegetable oil because we love butter baked in bread. Based on previous reviews; I added in extra egg for 3 eggs total and added in 1/2 cup more flour for a total of 4 1/2 cups of bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jager

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Needed 5 cups of flour and 1 tablespoon of SAF Red yeast, but with those changes it rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my favorite challah recipe - I use it weekly and get rave reviews. I only gave it 4 stars bc as it is written, it's not as good as I make it :). Add more honey, some extra flour (including 1/2 cup whole wheat flour instead of all white flour), and 2 TBSP of yeast (instead of teaspoons) for the perfect challah. Mine doesn't end up rising as much as other challah - and if I cook it perfectly (350 for 23 minutes or so), it comes out deliciously sticky and sweet. Pieces pull apart and guests keep coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have been making this for about 2 years. This is hands down the easiest and tastiest Challah. No one can get enough of it! I have made it exactly as written and it comes out great. However these days, I do not measure the honey so tend to put a little more in. I also add an extra 1/2 C of flour and 1/4 tsp yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I agree with another lady that said the dough was so 'sticky'. I kept adding flour, more flour, etc. and ended up with 2 small loaves of rather heavy,dense breads.... not the two pleasing small loaves I was hoping for. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cactuslady
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I've been using this challah recipe in my bread maker for over 4 years and every time, the dough comes out wonderful! It's never been too sticky for me. A little more flour helps me to roll out the strands easily. Sometimes I mix the flours (white & stone ground whole wheat) and it still works just as well. After the machine is finished mixing, kneading & rising the dough, I braid it in a six-strand braid, let it rise some more, brush it with the egg wash, put sesame seeds on and bake it. I've never had a failure with this recipe or this method of braiding. It's simple, easy to make, and yields delicious challah. A Jewish friend told me it looks just like the challah his mother made when he was growing up. I must be doing something right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Muscat, Masqat, Oman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Delicious!!! So soft and moist! I wish I could braid it tighter so that it looked prettier like the photo! Absolutely wonderful! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Can't believe I never reviewed this recipe...have been using for a couple of years. It is fantastic! I make just as written except usually use 4 1/2 cups of flour. I also sprinkle with sesame seeds or poppy seeds after the egg wash. This is an unbelievably great recipe, which my husband loves! Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe...now if I could only braid the bread better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I make this recipe every week now and I think it is outstanding. One point of disagreement with the reviewers here - yes the dough is sticky, but adding so much additional flour changes the texture away from the tender and light qualities of the original. I've found that if I am diligent about having floured hands and a floured board (but not too much flour!) the stickiness problem drops considerably. It also helps to divide the recipe into 3 loaves rather than 2, and to flour a pastry cutter to help transfer the loaves onto the baking stone. also, to get a super shiny glaze, egg wash once after braiding, and a second time after rising. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States