Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've never made challah before, this recipe was both easy and excellent. Used the dough cycle on my bread machine, took the dough out and braided it, then let rise for an hour before putting on an egg wash and baking for 30 min. The bread is sweet and soft, very delicious. Looking forward to using it for some sandwiches and french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Easy to make and my family devoured it at our Shabbat meal. My kids are requesting this be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaylivg
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I;ve been using this recipe so many times , and even with bread machine it tastes pretty good , except it has a thick hard crust , which i don't really like . So the last time i made them , i only let the bread machine takes care of the dough and i took it out , braided them and let it sit for half an hour and baked it for 20 minutes , at 375 F , the result was beautiful challah and tastes delicious !!! awesome recipe , i didn't even change a thing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaylivg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I also added a third egg, a tablespoon of honey and about 1/16 to 1/8 of ground Allspice. It tasted JUST LIKE our local bakery's Easter Bread!! WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This bread tastes great, but wasn't really challah texture in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Best loaf of bread to ever come out of my bread machine, hands down! It is now THE bread to make in my house. Did not alter the recipe at all, and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
great challah. I make it with whole wheat flour, add a Tbsp of vital wheat gluten, and the following replacements: 3 eggs, 1/4 cup honey instead of white sugar, almond/soy milk and oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I can't help but wonder if this is what it's supposed to taste like...? It's not very good. I added a 3rd egg like someone else suggested. The texture of the bread is fine, but it didn't rise very much and is a very dense loaf. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Raymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susanne
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Delicious! I used Splenda in place of the sugar and Almond Milk instead of dairy and was still successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Used the dough setting, braided it, sat in warm oven for 1 to 1 1/2 hrs and then baked. (350 for 30-40 minutes until knocking on it sounds hollow) Perfect for french toast! note to self: Spray with water and cover with plastic before putting in warm oven to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States