Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I was searching for a recipe like Mom used to make when I came across this one. It was the closest of all the recipes I tried, still not quite there though. Then one snowy afternoon I was out of milk and didn't want to go to the store. So I used the canned milk in the pantry and that was it. The missing ingredient, canned milk. I highly recommend it, gives the bread a slightly different flavor that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette Purvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great easy recipe. Having made it several times the i start with warm milk for a better rise and dough needs to be just a bit on the sticky side for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Good call on the reviewer recommending using the light setting. That worked perfectly in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My Oster machine likes this on basic or i substitute honey for use on the sweet setting, and i save one of the egg whites for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is great. The only thing I did differently, mixed in the bread machine, transferred the dough, and placed in a Bread Pan, to rise, then bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great loaf of bread! I made it for dinner and it's gone. Good flavor. Good texture. it's just really good bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
After all this time making bread in my BM, I finally found a recipe that makes the best bread that I have ever tasted. I will make this again and again and again.... thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have hyperemesis gravidarum, and have so much trouble eating that I get almost all of my nutrition through an IV. The ONLY thing I have been able to keep down for the last month is this bread. A slice straight out of the bread maker with a tiny bit of butter and honey is soooooooo good. The only challenge is keeping my husband and kids from eating it before I get the chance to have some. They love it as much as I do, and eat it plain or make it into French toast. I have a feeling that I will keep making this long after my baby is born and I'm eating normally again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great. I tossed in an extra egg, although I don't think it even needed it. I will try it with just 2 next time. I did set the machine to Dough Only and baked it at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. I think its the best Challah I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used olive oil instead of butter and also did it on the dough cycle. Then I braided it and baked at 375. Basted with egg a few times while baking.Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Giles Hester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States