Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I haven't had Challah in years and this came out perfect! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this in my machine on the dough setting. 6 braided it and let it rise an hour. Then I brushed it with egg wash and topped it with pumpkin seeds and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. This. Is. Delicious!!! Love this recipe and bread! YUMMY! So glad it was posted! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
The first time I made this recipe it came out fine. I'm new to my breadmaker, so it was okay. I used regular white flour. But then I switched to bread flour (robin good) and WOW. It's amazing what a small change can do. I make it almost exactly as the recipe says, except I add the salt to the liquid ingredients. It produces a light, flaky (but not too much), buttery bread, right out of the breadmaker, and my family can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Great bread. After having baked the same bread several times, I changed the regular flour with "spelt". For you who doesn't know what "spelt" (also called dinkel wheat or hulled wheat) is, I can tell you, that it's an ancient species of wheat from the fifth millenium BC. It's easy to get in supermarkeds and/or health stores! It originates from Europe. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I was searching for a recipe like Mom used to make when I came across this one. It was the closest of all the recipes I tried, still not quite there though. Then one snowy afternoon I was out of milk and didn't want to go to the store. So I used the canned milk in the pantry and that was it. The missing ingredient, canned milk. I highly recommend it, gives the bread a slightly different flavor that is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnette Purvis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great easy recipe. Having made it several times the i start with warm milk for a better rise and dough needs to be just a bit on the sticky side for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Good call on the reviewer recommending using the light setting. That worked perfectly in my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My Oster machine likes this on basic or i substitute honey for use on the sweet setting, and i save one of the egg whites for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is great. The only thing I did differently, mixed in the bread machine, transferred the dough, and placed in a Bread Pan, to rise, then bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great loaf of bread! I made it for dinner and it's gone. Good flavor. Good texture. it's just really good bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States