Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Good recipe, but not traditional since it should be Parve. My Oster machine likes this on basic or i substitute honey for use on the sweet setting, and i save one of the egg whites for a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is great. The only thing I did differently, mixed in the bread machine, transferred the dough, and placed in a Bread Pan, to rise, then bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was a great loaf of bread! I made it for dinner and it's gone. Good flavor. Good texture. it's just really good bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
After all this time making bread in my BM, I finally found a recipe that makes the best bread that I have ever tasted. I will make this again and again and again.... thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I have hyperemesis gravidarum, and have so much trouble eating that I get almost all of my nutrition through an IV. The ONLY thing I have been able to keep down for the last month is this bread. A slice straight out of the bread maker with a tiny bit of butter and honey is soooooooo good. The only challenge is keeping my husband and kids from eating it before I get the chance to have some. They love it as much as I do, and eat it plain or make it into French toast. I have a feeling that I will keep making this long after my baby is born and I'm eating normally again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This recipe turned out great. I tossed in an extra egg, although I don't think it even needed it. I will try it with just 2 next time. I did set the machine to Dough Only and baked it at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. I think its the best Challah I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used olive oil instead of butter and also did it on the dough cycle. Then I braided it and baked at 375. Basted with egg a few times while baking.Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTINE5014

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I was a little doubtful about this recipe.. but it was yummy! Because my yeast is almost a year expired and doesn't work as well, I used a tablespoon vs 1/2 teaspoons. If you have a problem with your bread rising, use a tablespoon. It was slightly sweet but not overly, with a soft and crumbly crust but the inside was not dense nor crumbly. It cut really well and is a pretty yellow-tinged bread. Very good recipe :) And if it's not totally obvious, MELT the margarine before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renglehart
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used the exact ingredients from this recipe (and added 1 C raisins) with the dough setting on my bread machine. Then I followed the instructions for the Challah II recipe- divided dough in half then braided each half and let rise for about 2 hours. I baked it at 350 for about 25 minutes (tented with foil towards the end) and it was the best bread ever. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renglehart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made it exactly as posted, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States