Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is my daughter's favorite bread. It makes amazing french toast! Great with honey butter! I've made it in the bread machine, and also just done the dough, braided it and brushed it with egg wash before baking in the oven. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Johnson Hendrix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
So good! I've made this 2 days in a row now, and it's been easy & great. I have a 2 lb bread machine capacity and with the setting on 1 & 1/2 lb (light setting), it rose all the way to the top & even stuck to the lid the first time I made it. So it was a little tricky getting out of the pan, but well worth it. This bread makes THE best french toast. I have had to almost double the amount double the liquid used for making the french toast, because the bread soaks it up SO much. A filling, homemade breakfast for my family!! I'll never make f. toast with any other bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I love this bread so much, I could eat the entire thing alone in one sitting! I'm a huge fan of egg breads and just love the sweet, dense flavor they have and this one fits that bill. I am going to try some of the other Challah's on this site to see which is better in my humble opinion and I will update. I am in no way a baker but with my bread machine I don't need to be to yield excellent results for bread. I kept this exactly as written however I really want to take it out after dough is made and form that braid, I'm sure it doesn't change the flavor at all just makes it look prettier for me to scarf down :-)Update: made again on 2/28 but this time i added about 2 tsp. of honey, I warmed the milk with the butter to 100 degrees and made sure the eggs were room temp and added an extra 1/2 tsp of yeast. I put in bread machine on dough cycle and after rolled out with my hands best I could into three rolls and braided. put a damp towel over for an hour to rise which it barely did but no matter, I brushed an egg wash on top and baked for 30mins. at 350. Rose just fine in the oven. Just had to tear off a piece even though it's still very hot but, it's even BETTER than the first loaf I made entirely in the BM. I don't think I'll be able to try another recipe now!!!Even though the entire process is 4 hours, it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by lpcookie
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this recipe a year or so ago. I thought it was just okay. I found out that it did dry up quickly like another reviewer stated. Maybe it's the milk or the eggs that do this. I doubled the recipe, but reduced to eggs to 3. I will give this another go as I have been asked to make Challah. I will use 4 eggs and replace some of the milk w/ water. Let you know how it turns out. UPDATE: Everyone enjoyed it. The Poppyseeds were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Excellent! I did the dough cycle and braided it as others suggested. I also heat the milk then let it cool to 110 degrees. All other ingredients are at room temperature. Delicious!! I would like to try a few changes just so it could be a touch moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Excellent! Braided it and covered with poppy seeds and it was looked BEAUTIFUL when it came out of the oven -- a nice addition to the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I got a breadmachine for christmas, this was the first recipe I tried. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect! Was very soft and still tasted good the next day, will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe - I make it almost every week. To make it a little healthier, I use canola oil in place of the margarine and whole wheat flour for 2 of the 3 cups of flour called for. (Because of the whole wheat flour, I also add 2 tsp of wheat gluten to help with the rising.) I make just the dough in the bread machine and then braid and bake in the oven afterwards at 350 for around 40 minutes. I have some in the oven right now and the house smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Delicious challah! I let the bread machine do the mixing and kneading, then shaped the loaf into a braid by hand, brushed with an egg wash and sprinkled it with some coarse sea salt. It looked like the Platonic ideal of challah when it came out of the oven, and tasted pretty darn good, too. Thanks for a super recipe! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Awesome!! I made in entirely in the machine - got requests to make it again. Used a few tablespoons wheat bread flour since I did not have quite three cups of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States