Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Pretty good bread. The kids and I liked it but my husband didn't like it though. He said it was too sweet. I will more and likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorn74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Like many other reviews, I chose to use the Dough cycle, braid the bread, rise for 1 hour, use egg wash and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. I also added an extra 1/4 cup of milk as some others recommended more milk and used 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup wheat. It rose nicely and baked wonderfully. The flavor was not as sweet as I'm used to with other Challah (so next time I will bump up the sugar a bit) but texture was fairly dense as expected with this type of bread. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Good recipe. I braid my challah, but I've received a lot of compliments using this recipe. In fact, I was designated THE challah baker for all future events after my first attempt with this recipe! I follow as instructed, but only put the bread machine on the dough setting. I take out the dough, braid, brush with an egg wash and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes (or until perfectly brown and pretty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The family thought the bread was good, but not great, and gave it 3 and 4 stars. We all agreed that there are other breads that we like much better. I used the bread machine to make the dough. I then braided the bread, let it rise for about an hour and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. It looked really pretty. I don't think I will be doing this one again, but it was fun to make and a decent bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Suzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Wonderful! I mixed it in the bread machine, then braided it, brushed it with egg whites, sprinkled it with poppy seeds and baked it in the over (20-30min at 350). It was the perfect addition to our Easter meal. I plan on using it to make french toast based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I made this so i could make french toast the next morning and it was perfect for the french toast. Made the entire loaf in the machine and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Made in my bread machine and it was delicious, this is a sweeter bread. Will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEESMKR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plain, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was the best bread I have ever made. In the past I have had to "up" the yeast to prevent stunted loaves. I don't know if it is because I used 2 tsps of yeast or because I used the sweet setting, but this bread hit the top of the machine. It was amazingly light. My husband , who normally dislikes machine breads, said "Do not change a thing - this bread is perfect!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
We loved it. I took one reviewers advice and did 2c white and 1c brown flour and it still turned out wonderful. Next I'm going to try making french toast as some of the other reviewers suggested using this bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Really Yummy! I didn't have bread flour so I used all purpose and it turned out just fine! Make sure to cover the bread promptly otherwise it will dry out! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States