Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This really was amazing. The crust on it is so flaky and crisp, and the inside is tender, moist and fine. A good challah, especially so for one made in a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is the best bread recipe I have found.. I have baked it in the breadmaker as well as made is using the dough setting and baking it in the oven.. I've even used a little wheat flour.. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amystar79
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turned out fantastic! I made a few changes according to what others have suggested. I substituted white sugar for honey and used unsalted butter instead of margerine. I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and let it rise in the bread machine for an hour. I then made a lovely braid and let it sit for an another hour to rise under a tea towel. I then brushed the braid with egg and honey. It came better than what i expected. I will definately have to make two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amystar79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This came out excellent. I added a tablespoon of honey, let the eggs come to room temperature, warmed the milk to 100 degrees. As many others I used the dough cycle on my bread machine (I used the White bread cycle) and after completion of the dough cycle I rolled it out and braided it using 3, approximately 12 inch braids and let rise for 45 minutes and applied a egg wash and then into the oven at 350 for 25 minutes. It came out very fluffy and soft with a nice crust. Looked Really Good! It was not dense at all. We haven't seen what its like the next day because its all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was my first time trying out a challah bread recipe. After reading the reviews I decided to do the right thing and try the actual recipe without altering it. It tasted good. I make it for a french toast bake and was a huge hit. My only comments on the bread is that it did become incredibly crumbly and seemed a bit on the dry side. I made it late at night and cut it up the next morning. It was incredibly hard to get a clean cut of bread with out crumbs going everywhere. Bur I have nothing to compare it to. I will probably try to look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissajoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loma Rica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very tasty sweet bread. I made french toast out of some of it and it was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very reliable, delicious recipe. I use it almost weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good, but not stellar. Even on the light setting, crust came out thick, dark and slightly tough. Not as moist as I like my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was pretty simiple to make and that is a keeper in my book, my husband liked the taste of it, he used it on his daily lunch sandwich, but it's better for soups or stews, to soak up the gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Suzy, this is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I used the bread machine just to make the dough (followed recipe exactly), and then braided and let rise an additional 30 minutes in oven. Then removed and coated with egg wash and cooked at 350 for about 25 minutes. I had a little extra dough so i put them next to the braided challah and tried them with poppy seeds! Delicious, turned out perfectly. I am not worried about it turning hard or crunchy because this bread will be gone in one sitting! Cheers for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: Skippack, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States