Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
It is a good recipe but really enough for a 2 pound bread. It rose all the way to the top and got stuck on the lid. I think cutback the flour a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Dad 2.0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Soft, delicious and so easy! I made sure my milk was warm when adding to the machine, but otherwise just followed the recipe! I will be making this again and again. Great plain, with butter, or in French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this precisely to the recipe expect for adding a tbs or so more sugar. I have a panasonic, 6 mo old bread machine. This worked perfectly. I set it to medium and light crust and it came out soft and delicious. This is one of the only recipes we have tried so far which has not become heavy once it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the first sweet bread I have made in my bread machine, and it turned out absolutely perfect. I mixed the warm milk and the eggs with the yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes before I added the dry ingredients and the butter. I replaced 1 cup of the flour with ground almonds, and baked the bread on Sweet and Light Crust settings - it turned out perfect! This will be a staple now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Followed recipe, using three eggs..no other changes....dough cycle only, then then braided and allowed to rise one hour...then eggwash of one complete egg and tablespoon of water, baked on greased cookie sheet at 350 for 25 minutes...delish right out of oven...kids used it for hamburgers...entire loaf gone in one evening...a definite keeper...thnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good flavor and texture, mine turned out a little dark but that may just be my machine. Also, you do not get the nice crust of challah in a bread machine, but who cares when you can get challah w so little work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This reminds me of my mom's homemade from when I was young. Simple. Easy. Tasty. I make this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wow! This bread tastes better than the challah they sell at the local grocery store and bakery. It's really delicious! I followed the recipe. It worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ione's Mummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent challah recipe! I need to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour to make the dough workable and not so sticky, since I use this recipe as a base dough for Filipino sweet bread (pan de ube, pan de coco, pan de nutella, etc.) and it works like a charm. Even better than the Asian bakeries, actually! The only problem is, the family loves them so much, they're gone the first night and I have to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I've been baking this bread for a few years now. People just keep asking me to make it for different occasions. It is wonderful and the dough has a very nice stretch to it. You do not have to change anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul15235

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States