Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by JGo555
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made it before & the taste was fine but the texture was off. 2nd Attempt: I made this bread again & approached it differently. I now know how to use my BM so I had to add 1 tbsp of flour because it was a bit too wet. I took it out of the machine to try & braid it & had to knead it about 6-7 times so that I could get sticks. My braiding is awful if it isn't in hair apparently. I let it rise in a 110 degree F oven that I would turn on for 10 mins & then turn of for 10 mins. Let it rise for about 30 mins & it was huge. Did an egg + 1 tbsp of water wash on it & baked it at 350F degrees for about 35mins. It was a gorgeous, delicious loaf that I now have to make every 2 days because it's the staple bread in our kitchen. I'm not braiding it. Part of the problem some people are having is that they're not warming the milk enough. With my machine you have to warm things up but I follow the yeast's instruction & warmed the milk to about 126 degrees F because I knew that the margarine was very cold (I cut it up a bit before adding it) & the eggs weren't up to room temp. enough. I also made sure that the flour which is the hardest thing to measure was already measured in a container & I just had to dump it in. THANK YOU! Now I have to get some Jew friends to teach me more about their amazing cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made the dough in the bread machine, took out and rested for 45 minutes, baked at 350 for 30 minutes in the oven. Looked and smelled amazing but it was a gift for a neighbor. The next one is all mine though:) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I was a little reluctant at first because I have never made this kind of bread but it turned out really well. I will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This bread was SOOO good. I did follow a recommendation and added the third egg. It turned out perfect, and my Sunday brunch crowd gobbled it up! I will be making this over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have made this recipe more times that I can count! My family loves it and my bff's two college boys love it and I make it for them all the time. It's super easy and has never failed me...never. I braid it and make it into a circle which is gorgeous or just do a short braid and put it in a loaf pan. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly except I only used the dough cycle in my machine and then I transfered to the oven to cook. I have never tried to make a bread like this but it is the best bread I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This bread is AWESOME!!! and very easy to make. Came out exactly as described and it's a keeper. I wonder if adding raisins would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Juhlin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've never made challah before, this recipe was both easy and excellent. Used the dough cycle on my bread machine, took the dough out and braided it, then let rise for an hour before putting on an egg wash and baking for 30 min. The bread is sweet and soft, very delicious. Looking forward to using it for some sandwiches and french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Juhlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Easy to make and my family devoured it at our Shabbat meal. My kids are requesting this be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jaylivg
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I;ve been using this recipe so many times , and even with bread machine it tastes pretty good , except it has a thick hard crust , which i don't really like . So the last time i made them , i only let the bread machine takes care of the dough and i took it out , braided them and let it sit for half an hour and baked it for 20 minutes , at 375 F , the result was beautiful challah and tastes delicious !!! awesome recipe , i didn't even change a thing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaylivg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States