Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Freakin' delicious! I added 1 egg (3 total) and 1/2 cup flour (3-1/2 cups total). Had to add about 2 tablespoons more flour during kneading cycle to get dough to make a nice ball. Great texture, crust and flavor. This will be my every day bread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treatdream
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I love this recipe. It turns out great every time. If I'm making it as a gift I just do the dough setting with the machine and finish it in the oven. If I change the serving size to 18 I get two decent sized braided loaves (see pic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good flavor but a bit crumbly. Will definately make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This recipe is fabulous! I added a touch more sugar to the recipe and used kosher salt (to lessen the salt taste) and it was a huge hit! Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I spent today baking both Bread Machine Challah I and Bread Machine Challah II. I like this recipe much better. What I ended up doing was making a double recipe on the "dough" setting in my bread machine, and then and making two braided loafs in the oven -- baking them for 25 minutes at 350 (as suggested in version II). When I rolled out the dough I coated the strands in flour to keep them from merging together during the second (braided) raising of the dough. I then coated the braids in egg and a little bit of honey and baked. They came out beautifully. I also warmed the milk in the microwave for 40 seconds and proofed the yeast with a bit of sugar in the milk for 10 minutes before adding it to the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I followed this as written. Most excellent! Oil can be used in place of margarine. It does great as is in the bread machine on full cycle - of course you won't get the braided look but the texture is just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Thanks for this great recipe! Simple and delicious. What more could you ask for? I have made several variations of the bread including one using oat flour and honey instead of sugar. This is a great basic recipe for a bread machine. It can easily be modified to suit your taste and available flour variety. Also, it makes the best bread for grilled cheese! Toasts up perfectly. Excellent texture. This has become our favorite sandwich bread. I make it every week! Kudos Suzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Bland, nothing like the stuff I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States