Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Great challah- I add 1-2 extra Tbsp. sugar to it. I make it on the dough setting in my bread machine then let my kids braid it. Then I let in rise in a warm oven for an hour. Then glaze it with a mixture of one egg and 1 Tbsp water. I bake it for about 20-30 min. at 350. My family LOVES it!! Looks like I bought it from a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This bread is wonderful! I used the bread machine to make the dough and then, like others suggested, braided it, allowed it to raise and baked it. It was beautiful! I am amazed that I did it myself!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Good bread - not the best I have had, but it had a nice flavor and dense texture. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This bread was quite good and definitely very easy. I think it could use 1/4 teaspoon more salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This bread is *tasty* and really easy to make. I used 3 eggs and real butter instead of margerine. The only downside is that the bread was too big for my machine. I will make the dough again and bake it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
followed it exactly and it was amazing right out of the bread machine. my husband thought it was bread on steriods! so soft and flavorful. this is coming from a bread snob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
oh so good! my neighbors across the street (we're 11,13,14) love baking stuff and this was definately good! do a honey glaze/sauce about 2 tbsp honey and 1/4 c. water and boil and spread just a tad onto the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by breadmaking_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Came out looking perfect! I was a bit worried about my yeast since it didn't seem to rise at first, but once it started baking it sprang to life. I set it on the sweet bread setting which has a shorter baking cycle. It was a beautiful light yellow and very tender. I threw in a handful of rasins and made yummy french toast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Great recipe! I have a 2# Oster machine and I left all ingredients the same except I used a full pkg of yeast (2 tsps) instead of 1 1/2 tsps - result was a very fluffy, sweet egg bread. Thanks - just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
the taste was pretty nice, but once this bread is cut and hits air, it dries up in minutes, I bake bread often, and that hardly ever happens to me... won't make again. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 191-200 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States