Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I got a breadmachine for christmas, this was the first recipe I tried. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect! Was very soft and still tasted good the next day, will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is a great recipe - I make it almost every week. To make it a little healthier, I use canola oil in place of the margarine and whole wheat flour for 2 of the 3 cups of flour called for. (Because of the whole wheat flour, I also add 2 tsp of wheat gluten to help with the rising.) I make just the dough in the bread machine and then braid and bake in the oven afterwards at 350 for around 40 minutes. I have some in the oven right now and the house smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Delicious challah! I let the bread machine do the mixing and kneading, then shaped the loaf into a braid by hand, brushed with an egg wash and sprinkled it with some coarse sea salt. It looked like the Platonic ideal of challah when it came out of the oven, and tasted pretty darn good, too. Thanks for a super recipe! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Awesome!! I made in entirely in the machine - got requests to make it again. Used a few tablespoons wheat bread flour since I did not have quite three cups of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe. Taste and texture are very good. I might use a little less yeast than recipe called for because when the bread started baking, it rose even higher & touched the lid of the bread machine. It made terrific French Toast this morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manzanita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This deserves 10 stars atleast!! Easily the best loaf of bread on this site. Rose nicely, has great texture & flavor. I scalded the milk, cooled it to 100 degrees & proofed the yeast in it with a pinch of sugar. I then added the 2 eggs & 3 T oil(instead of margarine). I poured that into the machine; combined all dry ingredients & poured that on top of the wet ingrediemts. Set on medium & voila! a beautiful loaf of bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Simply perfect!No adjustments needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This has the exact texture of the challah that I buy at my local bakery. But, this way, I can make it myself at home! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Great challah- I add 1-2 extra Tbsp. sugar to it. I make it on the dough setting in my bread machine then let my kids braid it. Then I let in rise in a warm oven for an hour. Then glaze it with a mixture of one egg and 1 Tbsp water. I bake it for about 20-30 min. at 350. My family LOVES it!! Looks like I bought it from a bakery!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This bread is wonderful! I used the bread machine to make the dough and then, like others suggested, braided it, allowed it to raise and baked it. It was beautiful! I am amazed that I did it myself!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States