Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is one of the better recipes I have done in my bread machine. The texture is great, especially the crust. I made french toast this morning with the left overs and even though I burned it a little (my mother-in-las called and wouldn't stop talking), it was really great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best recipe I've ever made in my bread machine! I use soy or rice milk instead of dairy milk, and it turns out wonderful. I saw several people found the dough too dry after a couple minutes, but I always find it's too wet and I have to add more flour, between 1/2 to 2 cups more. I also adjusted the recipe to use three eggs, instead of two, after trying it a couple times. I use the sweet, light, large setting on my machine. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Loved this bread - recipe is definitely a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wowzers! This is the best. Cooked up beautifully, easy to cut into perfect slices. I have a problem with some bread machine breads being hard to cut. Light, fluffy & delish. I put the milk, eggs, butter, sugar & salt in a bowl, nuke it (on the beverage cycle) until the butter melts, put this in the bread machine canister & add bread flour. I did use 2 t of yeast. Will be making this bread often! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in IL
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Excellent Challah. I normally take my dough out of the machine after the first rise, but I was sick and feeling lazy today, so I just let the machine do it all. It came out wonderful. The only thing I did different was that I heated the milk prior to putting it in the machine so the yeast would activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Pretty good bread. The kids and I liked it but my husband didn't like it though. He said it was too sweet. I will more and likely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chorn74

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Like many other reviews, I chose to use the Dough cycle, braid the bread, rise for 1 hour, use egg wash and bake at 350 for 30 minutes. I also added an extra 1/4 cup of milk as some others recommended more milk and used 2 cups bread flour and 1 cup wheat. It rose nicely and baked wonderfully. The flavor was not as sweet as I'm used to with other Challah (so next time I will bump up the sugar a bit) but texture was fairly dense as expected with this type of bread. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Good recipe. I braid my challah, but I've received a lot of compliments using this recipe. In fact, I was designated THE challah baker for all future events after my first attempt with this recipe! I follow as instructed, but only put the bread machine on the dough setting. I take out the dough, braid, brush with an egg wash and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes (or until perfectly brown and pretty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
The family thought the bread was good, but not great, and gave it 3 and 4 stars. We all agreed that there are other breads that we like much better. I used the bread machine to make the dough. I then braided the bread, let it rise for about an hour and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. It looked really pretty. I don't think I will be doing this one again, but it was fun to make and a decent bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Suzy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Wonderful! I mixed it in the bread machine, then braided it, brushed it with egg whites, sprinkled it with poppy seeds and baked it in the over (20-30min at 350). It was the perfect addition to our Easter meal. I plan on using it to make french toast based on other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States