Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Wow! This was amazing! Better than any store bought Challah. Soo good. I made it once before & it was OK. The second time I made it I ensured that all of the ingredients were at room temperature. I'm pretty sure that made a HUGE difference. It was soft, gooey & sweet. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Followed advice of other reviews and added a 3rd egg. Used 1/4 cup honey in lieu of sugar and added about a quarter cup extra flour while dough was mixing. I always proof my yeast - the only time I didn't, my bread failed to rise properly in the machine. Nuked the milk until warm to touch (about 40 seconds, stirring once) before adding honey and yeast. Using my bread machine, I set to dough while mixing ingredients. When cycle ended (including rising time), I coated the dough ball with EVOO and baked loaf on 2 pound sweet bread setting, light crust (complete with the mixing and rising.) I pulled the loaf out of the pan quickly after it finished baking. Loaf came out perfectly, the top pressed to the window of my bread machine. 4 stars because I altered the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This recipe is super easy and super delicious. Family loved it!!! loved how it didn't explode in my machine and even made clean up easy;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Oh so yummy. Comes out fine with all purpose flour (instead of bread flour). If using salted butter then reduce salt addition. Can substitute some of the milk with honey (~2tbsp) and reduce the sugar (~1tbsp less).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Yum! This is my go-to bread recipe for making French Toast Casserole. It turns out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I read the previous comments and added 2 tablespoons of honey. The sweetness really popped and the bread was soft and moist. I will make this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Stamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My favorite bread recipe. Have a new bread machine, and have tried a few different types of bread. I like sweet egg breads, and this recipe turns out a perfect bread. This time I let the machine bake it, maybe next time I'll braid it myself. This recipe is a great place to start for home made bread! Everyone loves it, and hubby who grew up with challah says it tastes like the bread growing up. Positive reviews all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This turned out super. We were worried we didn't use warm milk but the yeast worked and very crispy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
So easy and so YUMMY! My wife said this was by far the best bread I have made for us in the machine. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDluvsRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karlikarli
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This is now my favourite bread recipe. I adjusted the serving to 16 and then upped the milk to 300mL and the eggs to 3. I proofed the yeast in scalded and cooled milk before starting and made sure everything else was at room temperature. I did not have bread flour so used Canadian all purpose and it still rose beautifully. After the dough cycle completed I braided my bread and let it rise in my oven. To warm the oven slightly I popped in a pan of boiling water which I removed right before I put in the loaf. Then the oven light was left on to provide just enough warmth. After an hour it was massive so I took it out and gave it and egg wash bath while the oven heated to 350. After baking about 55 minutes it was gorgeous and I was giddy. Everyone at dinner raved about the flavour too. Wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States