Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I'm in love with this recipe. The key is to stand over your bread maker and see if the dough becomes a smooth ball shape after a few minutes of the machine kneading. If it's crumbly add some milk or eggs, if its really sticky add a sprinkle of flour until it turns smooth. I've made this with wheat flour, added raisins and just plain followed the recipe and I've had great results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Delicious and sweet just as challah should be! I've made it just as the recipe calls for and have substituted part of the white flour for whole wheat to make it healthier and it's STILL delicious! Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JewRican

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
OMG, I've been using my bread machine for 3 years, and this is positively the best recipe I've come across. W O W .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
very good bread! goes fast around my house ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I added an extra egg to this recipe. It was the first bread I've made with a bread machine. I took it out and braided it before the second rising. It is a perfect texture with a delicious sweet taste and aroma. If you're a Challah lover, this is the recipe for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This didn't work for me the first time I tried it, the "light" crust cycle on my bread machine wasn't enough, and I ended u with a doughy loaf. It smelled wonderful though, so I'm going to give it a try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Great Recipe! I just did the dough in the bread machine & then shaped it, let it rise & baked it in the oven & it turned out excellently - very tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This bread is fantastic. Quick, simple and delicious. It's great for sandwiches, french toast, and best of all- stuffing! I used this bread in the Slow Cooker Stuffing recipe on this site and it was hands down the best I've ever had, and the hit of the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Excellent!!!! I had to add about 1/4 cup more flour because after first knead it was to gooey. Can't wait to toast it in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I had a recipe that came with my bread maker but I use this recipe. It's absolutely amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States