Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good flavor and texture, mine turned out a little dark but that may just be my machine. Also, you do not get the nice crust of challah in a bread machine, but who cares when you can get challah w so little work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This reminds me of my mom's homemade from when I was young. Simple. Easy. Tasty. I make this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wow! This bread tastes better than the challah they sell at the local grocery store and bakery. It's really delicious! I followed the recipe. It worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ione's Mummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent challah recipe! I need to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour to make the dough workable and not so sticky, since I use this recipe as a base dough for Filipino sweet bread (pan de ube, pan de coco, pan de nutella, etc.) and it works like a charm. Even better than the Asian bakeries, actually! The only problem is, the family loves them so much, they're gone the first night and I have to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I've been baking this bread for a few years now. People just keep asking me to make it for different occasions. It is wonderful and the dough has a very nice stretch to it. You do not have to change anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul15235

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Best bread I've ever made in my machine, and I've owned and used my breadmaker for about 10 years. I made it this morning for Thanksgiving, and the whole loaf was gone halfway thru the meal. Make sure to check the dough after the first mix, and be prepared to sprinkle in a few tablespoons of flour if it looks too wet. Also don't be afraid to restart the cycle after you do that. I actually accidentally used 3 T oil instead of the margarine the first time, and it came out so good I just did that the second time too. Also made one loaf with regular flour, and the second loaf with bread flour ... bread flour texture was a little better. Definitely a keeper ... I just need to translate this to a 2 lb loaf size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious, but a warning: I added an extra egg after reading some reviews that said it was a little dry... unfortunately, the batter overflowed and ended up all over the inside of my bread machine! I think it might be a little much for a 1.5 pound machine. I'll cut the recipe next time. Even so, it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I was somewhat skeptical but the bread turned out great! I used 1 egg plus 2 yolks instead of the 2 eggs. Texture and taste were excellent. I may have left the crust on Med and not light because it turned out quite light in color. THX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was too dense for me, but a friend of mine really likes her bread that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELTTEACH

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
We love this bread.. Never fails, great taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hierrazip

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States