Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I made this precisely to the recipe expect for adding a tbs or so more sugar. I have a panasonic, 6 mo old bread machine. This worked perfectly. I set it to medium and light crust and it came out soft and delicious. This is one of the only recipes we have tried so far which has not become heavy once it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the first sweet bread I have made in my bread machine, and it turned out absolutely perfect. I mixed the warm milk and the eggs with the yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes before I added the dry ingredients and the butter. I replaced 1 cup of the flour with ground almonds, and baked the bread on Sweet and Light Crust settings - it turned out perfect! This will be a staple now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Followed recipe, using three eggs..no other changes....dough cycle only, then then braided and allowed to rise one hour...then eggwash of one complete egg and tablespoon of water, baked on greased cookie sheet at 350 for 25 minutes...delish right out of oven...kids used it for hamburgers...entire loaf gone in one evening...a definite keeper...thnx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Very good flavor and texture, mine turned out a little dark but that may just be my machine. Also, you do not get the nice crust of challah in a bread machine, but who cares when you can get challah w so little work?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This reminds me of my mom's homemade from when I was young. Simple. Easy. Tasty. I make this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Wow! This bread tastes better than the challah they sell at the local grocery store and bakery. It's really delicious! I followed the recipe. It worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ione's Mummy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Excellent challah recipe! I need to add an extra 1/4 cup of flour to make the dough workable and not so sticky, since I use this recipe as a base dough for Filipino sweet bread (pan de ube, pan de coco, pan de nutella, etc.) and it works like a charm. Even better than the Asian bakeries, actually! The only problem is, the family loves them so much, they're gone the first night and I have to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I've been baking this bread for a few years now. People just keep asking me to make it for different occasions. It is wonderful and the dough has a very nice stretch to it. You do not have to change anything at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul15235

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Best bread I've ever made in my machine, and I've owned and used my breadmaker for about 10 years. I made it this morning for Thanksgiving, and the whole loaf was gone halfway thru the meal. Make sure to check the dough after the first mix, and be prepared to sprinkle in a few tablespoons of flour if it looks too wet. Also don't be afraid to restart the cycle after you do that. I actually accidentally used 3 T oil instead of the margarine the first time, and it came out so good I just did that the second time too. Also made one loaf with regular flour, and the second loaf with bread flour ... bread flour texture was a little better. Definitely a keeper ... I just need to translate this to a 2 lb loaf size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious, but a warning: I added an extra egg after reading some reviews that said it was a little dry... unfortunately, the batter overflowed and ended up all over the inside of my bread machine! I think it might be a little much for a 1.5 pound machine. I'll cut the recipe next time. Even so, it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States