Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Thanks for this great recipe! Simple and delicious. What more could you ask for? I have made several variations of the bread including one using oat flour and honey instead of sugar. This is a great basic recipe for a bread machine. It can easily be modified to suit your taste and available flour variety. Also, it makes the best bread for grilled cheese! Toasts up perfectly. Excellent texture. This has become our favorite sandwich bread. I make it every week! Kudos Suzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Bland, nothing like the stuff I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHERYLMASS
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I made one in my Oster bread machine and one in my Sunbeam bread machine. I followed the directions and a tip to add one extra egg. (I used Jumbo eggs.) The batter was sticky, so I added a bit more flour to each machine, no more than 1/4 cup. I also floured 2 cups of raisins and added one cup to each when the machine beeped. I did check both machines to see if I needed to scrape down the sides, the Sunbeam needed it. The Sunbeam bread rose higher and the raisins mixed in better, the Oster made a prettier loaf, but the raisins weren't evenly distributed (see photo). The Oster bread tasted almost cake like, delicious. If you like a sweeter bread increase the sugar. The Sunbeam bread is going to be a gift, so I didn't cut into it to see how the raisins distributed, but in looking at the loaf I see some at the top, so it should be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLMASS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGo555
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made it before & the taste was fine but the texture was off. 2nd Attempt: I made this bread again & approached it differently. I now know how to use my BM so I had to add 1 tbsp of flour because it was a bit too wet. I took it out of the machine to try & braid it & had to knead it about 6-7 times so that I could get sticks. My braiding is awful if it isn't in hair apparently. I let it rise in a 110 degree F oven that I would turn on for 10 mins & then turn of for 10 mins. Let it rise for about 30 mins & it was huge. Did an egg + 1 tbsp of water wash on it & baked it at 350F degrees for about 35mins. It was a gorgeous, delicious loaf that I now have to make every 2 days because it's the staple bread in our kitchen. I'm not braiding it. Part of the problem some people are having is that they're not warming the milk enough. With my machine you have to warm things up but I follow the yeast's instruction & warmed the milk to about 126 degrees F because I knew that the margarine was very cold (I cut it up a bit before adding it) & the eggs weren't up to room temp. enough. I also made sure that the flour which is the hardest thing to measure was already measured in a container & I just had to dump it in. THANK YOU! Now I have to get some Jew friends to teach me more about their amazing cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Made the dough in the bread machine, took out and rested for 45 minutes, baked at 350 for 30 minutes in the oven. Looked and smelled amazing but it was a gift for a neighbor. The next one is all mine though:) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I was a little reluctant at first because I have never made this kind of bread but it turned out really well. I will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This bread was SOOO good. I did follow a recommendation and added the third egg. It turned out perfect, and my Sunday brunch crowd gobbled it up! I will be making this over and over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I have made this recipe more times that I can count! My family loves it and my bff's two college boys love it and I make it for them all the time. It's super easy and has never failed me...never. I braid it and make it into a circle which is gorgeous or just do a short braid and put it in a loaf pan. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States