Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I was a little doubtful about this recipe.. but it was yummy! Because my yeast is almost a year expired and doesn't work as well, I used a tablespoon vs 1/2 teaspoons. If you have a problem with your bread rising, use a tablespoon. It was slightly sweet but not overly, with a soft and crumbly crust but the inside was not dense nor crumbly. It cut really well and is a pretty yellow-tinged bread. Very good recipe :) And if it's not totally obvious, MELT the margarine before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renglehart
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used the exact ingredients from this recipe (and added 1 C raisins) with the dough setting on my bread machine. Then I followed the instructions for the Challah II recipe- divided dough in half then braided each half and let rise for about 2 hours. I baked it at 350 for about 25 minutes (tented with foil towards the end) and it was the best bread ever. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renglehart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made it exactly as posted, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
perfect sandwich bread - came out beautifully! Added an egg tho..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamzie
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Yes, I too am joining the chorus for this positively delicious and easy bread. I've made it several times already and it's always fantastic. I did make some changes after reading the reviews of other users, namely: I added 3 eggs (room temp!); used 1 cup of milk; scalded the milk;I used extra light olive oil rather than margarine; had to add additional flour due to more liquid from egg/milk, probably about 3 tablespoons but, with all breadmaking, watch your ball, i.e., sweetbread, it should be slightly glossy, very, very, slightly sticky, which is okay, since after taking it out of the machine to punch down, one adds flour on a kitchen surface to shape, etc.; as such, I did remove the dough from the machine, punched it down and braided it; made two loaves rather than one large one; gave them an egg wash; have sprinkled with either sesame seeds or poppy seeds (I've posted two pics); one time braiding them and shaping into a circle in cake pans (see pic); I baked for 22 minutes at 350, turning the pan with the loaves halfway through baking process in order to evenly bake them; I also covered with aluminium foil about 11-12 minutes into baking so as not to overbrown. With this recipe, I won't ever have to buy Challah again at the store or bakery !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
A truly wonderful recipe. I used AP flour instead of bread flour and it turned out great anyway. Great flavor, great texture. It was light and fluffy, probably lighter than what you can buy in stores. I served it sprinkled with powdered sugar. My husband loved it too, will be making again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is a more than a 5 star recipe ! I always wanted to make a Challah bread in my bread machine and tried this recipe today. I did not need to adjust any of the ingredients.. The only change I made was using BUTTER instead of margarine The bread rose well and all the features of a hand made Challah loaf. Will certainly be a firm family favourite. Many thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Freakin' delicious! I added 1 egg (3 total) and 1/2 cup flour (3-1/2 cups total). Had to add about 2 tablespoons more flour during kneading cycle to get dough to make a nice ball. Great texture, crust and flavor. This will be my every day bread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by treatdream
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I love this recipe. It turns out great every time. If I'm making it as a gift I just do the dough setting with the machine and finish it in the oven. If I change the serving size to 18 I get two decent sized braided loaves (see pic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by treatdream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Very good flavor but a bit crumbly. Will definately make again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States