Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Easy to make and tastes great. Family loved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
just wonderful. i will also be traditional (sometime) and braid it with the egg wash, but this tastes just perfect. i used soy milk and butter. i will do this again tonight -- i have to take this one to my parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I was kind of busy so I let the bread machine do all the work this time. Next time I'll braid it and brush with egg wash. Great bread! Thank you Suzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This is a fantastic, easy recipe. I was heating up the milk with the butter but found that heating up the butter, then adding the milk keeps the liquid mixture at the right temp so as to not kill the yeast. I also made this by just using the dough cycle. I then took it out, punched it down and kneaded a bit, braided it and let it rise for about an hour. I then brushed with milk and sprinkled sugar on it (can you say sweet tooth?) and baked in a 350 oven for about 20 minutes. While it didn't exactly double in size as I would have thought during the resting, it rose beautifully once in the oven. A big, beautiful stringy loaf of Challah! Make sure to take the temp of the heated milk butter mixture; I believe anything over 120 kills yeast as does salt, so make sure to put the salt in with the liquid. Also, sometimes I add in some honey and when I do that, I count it towards the liquid measurement otherwise you end up having to add a ton of flour which will make it too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Awesome taste and texture. My breadmaker has a Sweet setting which I used for this bread and it worked out nicely. I scalded the milk then put the butter in the hot milk to melt it and cool down the liquid (an old trick from another bread recipe I make). I also added 1/2 cup of golden raisins. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FishinWidow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is my daughter's favorite bread. It makes amazing french toast! Great with honey butter! I've made it in the bread machine, and also just done the dough, braided it and brushed it with egg wash before baking in the oven. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Johnson Hendrix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
So good! I've made this 2 days in a row now, and it's been easy & great. I have a 2 lb bread machine capacity and with the setting on 1 & 1/2 lb (light setting), it rose all the way to the top & even stuck to the lid the first time I made it. So it was a little tricky getting out of the pan, but well worth it. This bread makes THE best french toast. I have had to almost double the amount double the liquid used for making the french toast, because the bread soaks it up SO much. A filling, homemade breakfast for my family!! I'll never make f. toast with any other bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2many

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I love this bread so much, I could eat the entire thing alone in one sitting! I'm a huge fan of egg breads and just love the sweet, dense flavor they have and this one fits that bill. I am going to try some of the other Challah's on this site to see which is better in my humble opinion and I will update. I am in no way a baker but with my bread machine I don't need to be to yield excellent results for bread. I kept this exactly as written however I really want to take it out after dough is made and form that braid, I'm sure it doesn't change the flavor at all just makes it look prettier for me to scarf down :-)Update: made again on 2/28 but this time i added about 2 tsp. of honey, I warmed the milk with the butter to 100 degrees and made sure the eggs were room temp and added an extra 1/2 tsp of yeast. I put in bread machine on dough cycle and after rolled out with my hands best I could into three rolls and braided. put a damp towel over for an hour to rise which it barely did but no matter, I brushed an egg wash on top and baked for 30mins. at 350. Rose just fine in the oven. Just had to tear off a piece even though it's still very hot but, it's even BETTER than the first loaf I made entirely in the BM. I don't think I'll be able to try another recipe now!!!Even though the entire process is 4 hours, it's so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Photo by lpcookie
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I made this recipe a year or so ago. I thought it was just okay. I found out that it did dry up quickly like another reviewer stated. Maybe it's the milk or the eggs that do this. I doubled the recipe, but reduced to eggs to 3. I will give this another go as I have been asked to make Challah. I will use 4 eggs and replace some of the milk w/ water. Let you know how it turns out. UPDATE: Everyone enjoyed it. The Poppyseeds were a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Excellent! I did the dough cycle and braided it as others suggested. I also heat the milk then let it cool to 110 degrees. All other ingredients are at room temperature. Delicious!! I would like to try a few changes just so it could be a touch moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States