Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph webb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was very good, I tasted it while it was hot with just some butter on it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
made this yesterday for Easter, came out great!! I did put this into the bread machine but only hit the dough cycle. When done my daughter divided the dough into 3 parts made 3 long snakes out of them and braided the dough together tucking the ends under onto a greased cookie sheet. I then placed in dough into the oven (not turned on) covered the bread with a clean kitchen towel and rested the dough for about 25 minutes. When done resting, take dough out of the oven. At this point pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Now make an egg wash: take one egg white with 1 tablespoon of water whisk with a fork and brush on top of bread I also sprinkled seasame seeds on top too. return bread/dough to oven for aprox 25 to 30 minutes til golden brown. The next time I make this bread my husband suggested to me to meke this bread with raisins in it, that sounds yummy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This came out really great and was very tasty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Gorgeous crust and a great taste. Sadly, mine didn't rise at all. I know my yeast is fresh and I even put it on an extended cycle in the machine :( Next time, I would be careful not to let the salt and yeast come into contact. Ah, well! Live and learn :) Chopped up into cubes, it made some pretty nice garlic croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This is one of the better recipes I have done in my bread machine. The texture is great, especially the crust. I made french toast this morning with the left overs and even though I burned it a little (my mother-in-las called and wouldn't stop talking), it was really great. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is the best recipe I've ever made in my bread machine! I use soy or rice milk instead of dairy milk, and it turns out wonderful. I saw several people found the dough too dry after a couple minutes, but I always find it's too wet and I have to add more flour, between 1/2 to 2 cups more. I also adjusted the recipe to use three eggs, instead of two, after trying it a couple times. I use the sweet, light, large setting on my machine. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Loved this bread - recipe is definitely a "keeper"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Wowzers! This is the best. Cooked up beautifully, easy to cut into perfect slices. I have a problem with some bread machine breads being hard to cut. Light, fluffy & delish. I put the milk, eggs, butter, sugar & salt in a bowl, nuke it (on the beverage cycle) until the butter melts, put this in the bread machine canister & add bread flour. I did use 2 t of yeast. Will be making this bread often! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Excellent Challah. I normally take my dough out of the machine after the first rise, but I was sick and feeling lazy today, so I just let the machine do it all. It came out wonderful. The only thing I did different was that I heated the milk prior to putting it in the machine so the yeast would activate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States