Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was pretty simiple to make and that is a keeper in my book, my husband liked the taste of it, he used it on his daily lunch sandwich, but it's better for soups or stews, to soak up the gravy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYBOLTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Suzy, this is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I used the bread machine just to make the dough (followed recipe exactly), and then braided and let rise an additional 30 minutes in oven. Then removed and coated with egg wash and cooked at 350 for about 25 minutes. I had a little extra dough so i put them next to the braided challah and tried them with poppy seeds! Delicious, turned out perfectly. I am not worried about it turning hard or crunchy because this bread will be gone in one sitting! Cheers for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: Skippack, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
A favorite in our home. Easy recipe, good taste. This is a light bread but it holds up very well. Works well with bread flour and all-purpose, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEOXFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it many times in my bread machine and it is always wonderful. My family loves this bread, and it makes THE BEST french toast - that is, if there's any left the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This had a really good flavor. I mixed it in the bread machine, and baked it in the oven, I liked how it rose so much when it baked, I was afraid that I had done something wrong, like not adding enough yeast, but it rose perfectly in the oven. I did find that the crust got hard fairly quickly, but other than that, it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~S~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My family loves this bread. It consistently turns out well. Every time I make it every one says "This is the best bread you ever made".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Just a delicious bread recipe - super texture. I used the ingredients as directed, although took the advice of reviewers and put the machine on the dough setting, and after taking the dough out, braided it, let it rise an hour and baked it at 375 degrees for 25 minutes (I found any more browned it too much, and it was done enough). Thanks for the recipe Suzy - a definite make again! And a P.S. - I used this bread to make Fluffy French Toast (from this site), and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
The first time I made this it was so moist I kept having to throw in more and more flour. Then I realized much later on that I forgot the sugar! No need to worry it still turned out amazing and still had a certain sweetness. I'm making it again today only breaking down the dough in half to make two smaller loaves. What wonderful gifts these will make. Thanks a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Perfect! I made 8 smaller challahs instead of one big, so my kids could just grab one any time they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States