Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I like to experiment with different Challah bread recipes and this one remains our family's favorite. Sometimes I set it for the dough cycle, remove it, and let it rise on a floured board, punch it down then braid it and let it rise again. Then I brush on an egg wash and sprinkle with sesame or poppy seeds and bake in oven on a lightly greased cookie sheet for about 30 minutes or until lightly browned. It looks so pretty braided and tastes terrific when spread with butter. When I invite dinner guests, they always ask if I am having that "fantastic braided bread" again! This bread is a classic keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
The tastiest bread I've ever had! I love it! I used butter instead of margarine because that's all I had and it came out fine :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismother
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
very easy and yummy! So glad I don't have to buy store challah anymore.... I followed the recipe as instructed and did not need to make any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Followed recipe exactly, produced a sweet white bread that was really pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I have made this twice now and both times it was excellent! I made it in my bread machine for dough and then shaped it & baked it in the oven. Once as a loaf and once as rolls. It has been a hit for my family too - the rolls were great in their lunchboxes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this today and changed nothing (i usually fiddle with things, didn't this time lol). My family and i loved it! Great recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I love this bread! It is fast and easy and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a good challah recipe after all, except the dough was so sticky after the dough cycle finished. I had to return the dough back to the bread machine with 1 1/2 cup of flour (whole wheat flour used here) for a 2nd mix. The dough then was split into 2 parts. Rolled out andBraided
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Used breadmaker to make this dough, let dough rest five minutes, formed three ropes (about 12 inches) and braided on greased cookie sheet. Brushed with egg wash, covered with plastic wrap, and refrigerated overnight. Allowed to come to room temperature, brushed again with egg wash, and baked at 350 till beautiful. Delicious, attractive, and easy. Best when eaten the day it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States