Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was so excited about this bread, however when it was all done baking, all I got was a short, dense piece of bread. It didn't have hardly any rise and the middle was very very dense. I don't know if it was an error on my part, most likely the yeast. Needless to say, I was very disappointed but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've never had Challah before so I don't know how it's supposed to taste, but I can tell you this bread ROCKS! I made it specifically for french toast (used the Fluffy French Toast recipe), and had to stop myself from eating it so there would be enough. I heated the milk and used warm eggs (put the uncracked eggs in hot water for 10min) to help activate the yeast. I used veg. oil instead of margarine, and increased the flour a little. I also made the dough in my bread machine but split in half after rise 2, placed in 2 loaf pans, let rise again then baked at 350 for 20min. I wrapped the cooled bread the night before using for french toast, but I should've left it out so it could dry out a bit more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This really was amazing. The crust on it is so flaky and crisp, and the inside is tender, moist and fine. A good challah, especially so for one made in a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is the best bread recipe I have found.. I have baked it in the breadmaker as well as made is using the dough setting and baking it in the oven.. I've even used a little wheat flour.. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amystar79
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This turned out fantastic! I made a few changes according to what others have suggested. I substituted white sugar for honey and used unsalted butter instead of margerine. I used the dough cycle on the bread machine and let it rise in the bread machine for an hour. I then made a lovely braid and let it sit for an another hour to rise under a tea towel. I then brushed the braid with egg and honey. It came better than what i expected. I will definately have to make two next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amystar79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This came out excellent. I added a tablespoon of honey, let the eggs come to room temperature, warmed the milk to 100 degrees. As many others I used the dough cycle on my bread machine (I used the White bread cycle) and after completion of the dough cycle I rolled it out and braided it using 3, approximately 12 inch braids and let rise for 45 minutes and applied a egg wash and then into the oven at 350 for 25 minutes. It came out very fluffy and soft with a nice crust. Looked Really Good! It was not dense at all. We haven't seen what its like the next day because its all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was my first time trying out a challah bread recipe. After reading the reviews I decided to do the right thing and try the actual recipe without altering it. It tasted good. I make it for a french toast bake and was a huge hit. My only comments on the bread is that it did become incredibly crumbly and seemed a bit on the dry side. I made it late at night and cut it up the next morning. It was incredibly hard to get a clean cut of bread with out crumbs going everywhere. Bur I have nothing to compare it to. I will probably try to look for a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marissajoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loma Rica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very tasty sweet bread. I made french toast out of some of it and it was great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Very reliable, delicious recipe. I use it almost weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good, but not stellar. Even on the light setting, crust came out thick, dark and slightly tough. Not as moist as I like my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 111-120 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States