Bread Machine Challah I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This is a good challah recipe after all, except the dough was so sticky after the dough cycle finished. I had to return the dough back to the bread machine with 1 1/2 cup of flour (whole wheat flour used here) for a 2nd mix. The dough then was split into 2 parts. Rolled out andBraided
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Used breadmaker to make this dough, let dough rest five minutes, formed three ropes (about 12 inches) and braided on greased cookie sheet. Brushed with egg wash, covered with plastic wrap, and refrigerated overnight. Allowed to come to room temperature, brushed again with egg wash, and baked at 350 till beautiful. Delicious, attractive, and easy. Best when eaten the day it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Excellent challah! I followed the recipe exactly, except that I substituted soy milk for regular milk, because we're lactose intolerant. It came out perfectly in the bread machine, on the light setting. I will be making this again and again to use for sandwiches during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very moist hubby loved it, I did use 1/2 of the sugar called for. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ar4stall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made one change, I subbed the sugar for honey. It turned out beautiful. It is nice and moist, not too sweet, I look forward to making sandwiches for lunch with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by preta75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I've never had real Challah before so I can't say whether this recipe makes "good Challah", but after my sister complained she wanted me to make a fine-textured bread, I decided to try this recipe - and while it might not be the best Challah in the world, it is an AWESOME bread machine bread. After the first rise, the dough was a little too sticky, so I added about 1/4 cup of flour. Other than that, I followed all the directions precisely. The dough rose so well that it puffed up out of the pan and was nearly touching the roof of my bread machine! Once done, the crust looked a bit burnt, but sliced easily. The top crust is wonderfully flaky, and the bread itself is soft and airy as a cloud! It's best served still warm, in a big, thick slice topped with sweet-cream butter - but, once it's a few days old, it also makes brilliant french toast or bread pudding! I plan to bake this bread many times in the future (My sister liked it so much that she wants to have it always in the house!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
It was just "ok". I highly recommend using "Miriam's Not-So-Secret Challah" from this site instead. For that one, I use the brad maker for the dough (selecting the "dough" setting) and then bake braid it and bake it in the oven as stated. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I was so excited about this bread, however when it was all done baking, all I got was a short, dense piece of bread. It didn't have hardly any rise and the middle was very very dense. I don't know if it was an error on my part, most likely the yeast. Needless to say, I was very disappointed but I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've never had Challah before so I don't know how it's supposed to taste, but I can tell you this bread ROCKS! I made it specifically for french toast (used the Fluffy French Toast recipe), and had to stop myself from eating it so there would be enough. I heated the milk and used warm eggs (put the uncracked eggs in hot water for 10min) to help activate the yeast. I used veg. oil instead of margarine, and increased the flour a little. I also made the dough in my bread machine but split in half after rise 2, placed in 2 loaf pans, let rise again then baked at 350 for 20min. I wrapped the cooled bread the night before using for french toast, but I should've left it out so it could dry out a bit more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This really was amazing. The crust on it is so flaky and crisp, and the inside is tender, moist and fine. A good challah, especially so for one made in a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States