Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
We loved this! All four of my children ate their dinner and then we argued over who would take the leftovers for the next days lunch. I am about to make another one to put in the freezer, for a day when I am in a pinch, to save me from having to splurge and pay for delivery pizza. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious, and surprisingly easy. The braiding is a little tricky, as the directions are somewhat vague. Basically, after heaping the mixture in a line down the center, use a sharp knife to cut downward diagonally angled "flaps". Like this: (right side) //////// (middle) ----- (left side) \\\\\\\\ Then overlap each side, and tuck in the ends. At least that is how I went about it and it turned out nicely. I subbed 1 tablespoon of actual milk for the powdered; didn't throw off the recipe, despite the extra liquid. I also added another teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This recipe is awesome!! I made one change with the dough, I added 3/4 tsp of garlic. I also filled them with Italian sausage, ham, pepperoni and crumbled bacon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this tonight. I only used the calzone dough and it reminded me of the calzones I used to eat in NY. It was great. I also made individual calzones, and I let the dough rest when it came out of the bread machine and then let it rise for about 15-20 minutes after the calzones were done. Since everyone wanted their own filling, I "glued" a piece of the filling (pepperoni, broccoli, etc.) to the outside so everyone would know what was inside each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Dough was very elastic when taken out of the bread machine. FYI, some nice person advised me that it should rest for a few minutes before using. Also, recipe did not say to let rise after forming the calzone, but I made individual ones and the ones I did first (that had some time to rise) weren't as tough, so I would allow for some rising time also. Although pretty good, the filling was pretty basic. And leaked out anywhere I did not seal perfectly. Now that I know a little more about making these, I WILL try again, allowing extra time for the above and being much fussier about sealing the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Turned out tough :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell the Great

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My family absolutely loves this dish, we make it into individual calzones and add whatever toppings that one wants, the kids love to help make dinner! The only down side it I cant seem to get the dough thin enough, it always seems too thick and tough, if anyone has any tips, let me know please! Other than that this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Fantabulous!!! I made individual sized calzones and the family couldn't wait for the second batch to come out of the oven. I added some Ital. seasoning and some Parmesan cheese to the dough but that was the only change I made. I will be making this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I just used the crust recipe for my calzones. It was easy to handle and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
2 Thumbs UP! Made this exactly as recipe stated (except used meatballs instead of sausage). I can see this becoming a "staple" in our house. Especially when I have a houseful of growing kids and all their friends. So many possibilities and options - a great recipe to "tweek". Easy way to use up leftovers! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States