Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I made this without a bread machine, but it still came out delicious. Actually, a male friend of mine (with no experience kneading or cooking anything) made this with me, and even with his tomfoolerly, it tastes authentic. It's a very versatile recipe. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I liked this. I only followed the recipe for the bread. It came out of the oven crunchy outside, soft inside, and I was pretty happy with it. The whole criss-crossing thing didn't work very well though. I was a little confused by the directions. Mine ended up looking like some sort of deformed canoe! Tasty yes, but not very attractive. :) Since all of the calzones I've ever had served the sauce on the side for dipping, I did that instead of putting some inside. I stuffed my calzone with spinach, ricotta, fresh mushrooms, diced ham, and mozzarella cheese. All in all it was pretty good and I will probably make this again. I just won't do the criss cross thing next time. I think just folding it over and crimping it will suffice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
FAVORITE!! FAVORITE! FAVORITE!! This recipe is relaltively easy for how impressive it looks. My boys beg for these. Thay also reheat very well, so we make tons and freeze them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
finally found a calzone I love! I made a bunch and froze them. They are great for a quick dinner. Just take them out and put them in your fridge in the morning and reheat when your ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This recipe was great! I made individual calzones. My husband loved them and the kids did too. The crust was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
When I took the dough out of the machine it was so sticky and impossible to roll. I must of added at least another cup of flour to it. The taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Made this last night for dinner. The dough when it came out of my machine was extremely sticky. I bet I almost added an extra cup of flour. I'm going to make this again today to see if it was just user error. That being said this was DELICIOUS!!! I made four individual calzones with pepperoni, sausage and onion along with "exquisite pizza sauce" from this site and everybody just kept saying this is SO good. Will definitely make again and again and again. Saved some of the pizza sauce for dipping and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Very easy and has a wonderful texture. No hassles with using the bread machine. I added some garlic and herbs to the dough as I was mixing it to add some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This was yummy! Everyone gobbled it up, and it was a hit with the kids. My store was out of pizza sauce, so I used spaghetti sauce instead (Prego) and the flavor was still really nice. I added 1 clove of crushed garlic to the bread machine for a little more flavor, and will definately do so again when I make it next. It really only added a hint of garlic to the bread, but it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States