Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this was great. i used chorizo for the meat and i didnt have pizza sauce so i made my own from tomato puree and oregano but it tasted great. jst as good the nxt day warmed up in the microwave for 30 seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this with my kitchen aide. My boys loved it as much as pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
It was very good calzone bread,the filling I changed to individual preferance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great recipe- be sure to have the time to do it! It's a family favorite that I make when I have the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda Mersmann

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Excellent! I added a pinch of Italian seasoning and about 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese to the dough. This dough rolls out very nice on a floured board. Thanks for a great recipe! You can teach an old dog new tricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Clave, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This always turns out perfect. I have found that by scaling the recipe to 6 servings the amount fits in my bread machine and I end up with 2 very large calzone which is enough to serve my family. For the filling I used a mixture of ground beef and ground italian sausage. I cooked the meat and added 2 cloves of garlic. I also added some parmesan with the mozzarella. The flavor of the bread is wonderful. It is easy to put together once the dough is ready. It is good with a variety of different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This was so nice to be able to make in the bread macine! This is a great base recipe and is going to be a really great crust to use for calzones with different fillings (the sky is the limit with this crust) and for pizza (it would make a great pizza crust). I added a tsp of garlic powder and a tsp of italian seasonings to the dry ingredients before putting in the machine. I used what I had on hand for the filling this time - canadian bacon which I cut up and browned a bit, Easy Pizza Sauce III from this site (terrific!), and part-skim mozarella. I also brushed a bit of olive oil on before baking and then 10 minutes before I took it out I brushed a little melted butter on and sprinkled with grated parm for a nice finish. The dough was a bit sticky to get out of the machine but with floured hands and a little patience it came out and I absolutely did not need to add any more flour - didn't want it to get tough!! (just keep those hands floured and it'll be fine). I do think I'll let the dough rest a bit before rolling/pressing it out next time - it was pretty elastic and it took some time to get it pushed and stretched to the shape I needed. The braiding is going to take some practice but it still looked cool even with some of my stray strands here and there. Thanks for the recipe Kevin - my bread machine is going to see the light of day a lot more now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
I made this without a bread machine, but it still came out delicious. Actually, a male friend of mine (with no experience kneading or cooking anything) made this with me, and even with his tomfoolerly, it tastes authentic. It's a very versatile recipe. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I liked this. I only followed the recipe for the bread. It came out of the oven crunchy outside, soft inside, and I was pretty happy with it. The whole criss-crossing thing didn't work very well though. I was a little confused by the directions. Mine ended up looking like some sort of deformed canoe! Tasty yes, but not very attractive. :) Since all of the calzones I've ever had served the sauce on the side for dipping, I did that instead of putting some inside. I stuffed my calzone with spinach, ricotta, fresh mushrooms, diced ham, and mozzarella cheese. All in all it was pretty good and I will probably make this again. I just won't do the criss cross thing next time. I think just folding it over and crimping it will suffice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
FAVORITE!! FAVORITE! FAVORITE!! This recipe is relaltively easy for how impressive it looks. My boys beg for these. Thay also reheat very well, so we make tons and freeze them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States