Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! I used ground sirloin beef instead of sausage and it was still great! I fogot to do the fancy criss cross on top, but oh well it still tasted wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe! We made two, one as suggested in the braid and one that looked like a traditional calzone pocket. Add whatever you like as filling, serve with pizza or marinara sauce on the side. Crust was so tastey, chewy but not heavy -- although my crust never got golden brown, stayed pretty pale even though it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is the first thing I made with my bread machine & the family loved it! I added a little pepperoni to it as well. It is a nice change from pizza and if you have the time, this is definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPhipps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this TODAY, and it was a hit! I used all-purpose flour (in Canada you can instead of bread flour because our flour is higher quality - my info source, my bread machine cookbook), as I do with all my breads, and it was GREAT! Not a bread you'd eat alone, but as a wrapping, perfect. What a good simple recipe. The dough is elasticy, but not like a pizza dough. It is easier to work with. It was a bit sticky, so I just patted the outside with flour, and then it was totally easy to handle. I made it with the Italian sausage but added bell pepper, and some onion. You can tell, with the way it turns out, you could really put anything inside this that belongs on a pizza. Or even a white cream chicken sauce with some spinnach ... you probably could put apples, with sugar, and raisins inside, and sprinkle the top with sugar. Great possiblities. My husband wanted me to suggest spliting the dough in 2 or 3 so that you could cut each one in half when done, and just hold it to eat (he got an end piece, holding it like a sandwich, and felt "sorry" for the rest of us. lol What a nut!). My daughter was even able to help a bit with "painting" the bread with the melted butter, which is good cause she gotta help with EVERYTHING nowadays (she's almost 3). lol The bread is VERY filling. The whole family is stuffed, with leftovers for my hubby for work! WOW! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This came out, I'm sure, exactly as it should have. But I didn't make the criss-cross loaf thing. I made 4 fold-over circles. This dough was sticky to work with so add a little flour on your work surface. Also beware, the dough is frustratingly stretchy while trying to shape the sheet or circles. It insists on shrinking back into its former size. It baked up well but I need to tinker with perfecting my oven timing and temperature. I never made Calzones before. Quite a production. Don't even think about making this at the last minute. There is quite a lot of preperation what with the dough and the fillings and the assembly and all. I did make mine ahead in the day and laid them out on a tray, covered with plastic wrap and stored them in the fridge until baking time. They were good but I may stick to homemade pizza. That's enough work as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I made a vegetarian calzone and it tasted great and looked absolutely beautiful! It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very tasty, though I found the bread came out a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
SOOOOOOOO GOOD! The crust was perfect, the taste was phenomenal! We had leftover calzone for the next two nights! I did add pepperoni which added a great flavor too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this was great. i used chorizo for the meat and i didnt have pizza sauce so i made my own from tomato puree and oregano but it tasted great. jst as good the nxt day warmed up in the microwave for 30 seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this with my kitchen aide. My boys loved it as much as pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Mozzarella and Bread Salad with Pesto

See how to make a bread salad with fresh mozzarella and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States