Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This was so nice to be able to make in the bread macine! This is a great base recipe and is going to be a really great crust to use for calzones with different fillings (the sky is the limit with this crust) and for pizza (it would make a great pizza crust). I added a tsp of garlic powder and a tsp of italian seasonings to the dry ingredients before putting in the machine. I used what I had on hand for the filling this time - canadian bacon which I cut up and browned a bit, Easy Pizza Sauce III from this site (terrific!), and part-skim mozarella. I also brushed a bit of olive oil on before baking and then 10 minutes before I took it out I brushed a little melted butter on and sprinkled with grated parm for a nice finish. The dough was a bit sticky to get out of the machine but with floured hands and a little patience it came out and I absolutely did not need to add any more flour - didn't want it to get tough!! (just keep those hands floured and it'll be fine). I do think I'll let the dough rest a bit before rolling/pressing it out next time - it was pretty elastic and it took some time to get it pushed and stretched to the shape I needed. The braiding is going to take some practice but it still looked cool even with some of my stray strands here and there. Thanks for the recipe Kevin - my bread machine is going to see the light of day a lot more now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Delicious, and surprisingly easy. The braiding is a little tricky, as the directions are somewhat vague. Basically, after heaping the mixture in a line down the center, use a sharp knife to cut downward diagonally angled "flaps". Like this: (right side) //////// (middle) ----- (left side) \\\\\\\\ Then overlap each side, and tuck in the ends. At least that is how I went about it and it turned out nicely. I subbed 1 tablespoon of actual milk for the powdered; didn't throw off the recipe, despite the extra liquid. I also added another teaspoon of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This was wonderful and so easy to make. I rolled out the dough on a piece of wax paper then added the filling and wrapped the dough. It was then easy to lift the calzone into the pan. When it was cooked, the wax paper peeled off easily for a super-easy clean up. I added green pepper, onion and pepperoni to the filling. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Wanted to try this as a possibilty for hubby's flytying get-together. This has amazing presentation with the braiding going on.The dough part has great texture and taste, gets crispy on the outside and soft and chewy on inside. I was a little disappointed in the filling (not enough and not much variety) But that can be geared toward your own personal taste. I made a ricotta/mozzarella mixture with a little homemade pizza sauce,then added pepperoni, onion, black olive slices and some mushroom slices. Used remainder of pizza sauce for pouring over the individual servings. Great recipe and beeauutiful product Kevin. My dh assures me that his buds will love this.Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Excellent! I added a pinch of Italian seasoning and about 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese to the dough. This dough rolls out very nice on a floured board. Thanks for a great recipe! You can teach an old dog new tricks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Clave, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This recipe is wonderful and it doesn't take a whole lot of work. Just put all the ingredients in the bread machine and wha-la! I make 2 batches for my family on friday nights, its the next best thing to pizza! Also trying making an italian one, adding ham, onions, peppers, mozzarella cheese and italian dressing...really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is super easy -- but looks impressive. I always experiment with the fillings and haven't been disappointed yet! Use extra cheese. After brushing the top with melted butter, sprinkle with parmesean cheese and oregano for a "professional" finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUFF GIRL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
WOW! I just got a bread maker and tried out this recipe and was shocked at how delicious my first calzone attempt came out. I carmelized onions and then grilled them along with mushrooms, tomatoes, chicken, spaghetti sauce and brown sugar. I tossed all of that into the dough with some mozarella cheese and it was delicious! The dough came out perfectly crisp on the outside and soft in the inside. Even tasted better the next day!!! Thanks Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this tonight. I only used the calzone dough and it reminded me of the calzones I used to eat in NY. It was great. I also made individual calzones, and I let the dough rest when it came out of the bread machine and then let it rise for about 15-20 minutes after the calzones were done. Since everyone wanted their own filling, I "glued" a piece of the filling (pepperoni, broccoli, etc.) to the outside so everyone would know what was inside each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Excellent! We dressed up with a bit of herbs in the dough. We also simplified the wrap by dividing into 5 balls of dough, rolled out, filled, folded over and cut slits. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States