Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was a great recipe! I substituted Canadian bacon for the sausage to reduce the fat content and it was delicious. One thing that the recipe doesn't mention is the time it takes to make the dough. Our machine takes 2 hours to make the dough so we ended up putting the dough in the refrigerator and making the calzones the next evening. We'll make this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
We added chicken apple sausage, mushrooms, and olives. It tasted pretty good. We didn't use the receipe for the bread, just the calzone. We used a bread recipe from our bread machine book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was really good!! I added a teaspoon of itallian seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder to the flour. Used ricotta cheese mixed with a half of a can of pizza sauce, ground beef, salami, pepperoni, mushrooms, and olives. Huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made mini calzones for 6 little girls at my daughters 7 year old birthday party. I asked each girl what filling they wanted i.e. cheese, pepperoni, black olive, mushroom....all 6 girls inhaled their calzone and said it was the best. I have since then made the dough into "cheese" sticks like we get at our italian restaurant - the family likes this bread better. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~chele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This is very good I did not want to spend 12 dollars on powdered milk, so used 1 teaspoon milk, THis dough is the best I have had. Thanks I also used pepperoni instead of sausage. Will make again and all the kids loved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Had this for dinner last night and the family really enjoyed it. I have made something similar with a slightly different crust recipe but we unanimously agreed that this crust was lighter and tastier than my other one. I did add garlic powder, basil and oregano to the dry ingredients and sprinkled parmesan on the top of the loaf as it baked. This recipe was good for 2 adults and 2 hungry children. Looking forward to trying other stuffings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars because it has so much potential. And I'm putting it on my All time favorite list. I used a pkg of Quick rise yeast and used my Kitchen aid mixer and let the dough rise for 30 to 45 minutes. I sprinkled the top with garlic salt over butter. It would be better with other stuff and maybe with cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and it was a hit with everyone, and if it's not good they'll let me know! the only thing I added was pizza sauce, shredded mozarella cheese and pepperonis., then roll up the sides because I couldn't do the braiding thing, and then brush the top and sides with olive oil, sprinke on basil, parmesan cheese and salt. Everything was very flavorful, and I'll make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Galan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I followed the dough recipe and did my own filling and this was a hit with my husband and kids. Thanks for the great recipe. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This dough was great easy to work with and bake up to a crispy outside soft center and was bit chewy Just how I like it....I made 2 calzones and 2 small pizzas used the exquisite pizza sauce from this site and topping to suite everyones taste 35 min was perfect......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States