Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This recipe was so good and so easy! I modified a bit since I did not have bread flour or powdered milk. I used all purpose flour and a tsp of skim milk in place of those items. I had to double this recipe, so I ended making the other loaf with my stand mixer with the dough hook and it worked just as well :) We also added a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese to the top of the crust ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Eisel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This bread recipe was perfect. We all loved the taste and texture. To avoid having to seal the edges strecth the ends of the dough over the top and bottom, then just crisscross the cut edges starting from the top and working down. The edges will be tucked inside the bread making it seemless and so purdy. Will have this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdbooker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was really good! I used a recipe that came with my bread machine for the dough but it's essentially the same as the one written here but without the powdered milk. I also added grated parmesan and italian seasonings to the mix. Thanks for the yummy recipe! My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This made a great calzone or pizza bread. I added basil, minced garlic, and oregeno for a more flavorful crust. Its a great basic crust and there is really a lot you can do with it. I think I will add sun dried tomatoes in addition to herbs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not only was this excellent, it was loved by my entire family. I made one with pepperoni and a mozzarella/provolone mixture that all the kids fought over for the seconds. For the adults (who are all trying to eat a little healthier these days) I used ham, green and red pepper, onion, and Swiss cheese. We absolutely loved it. One changed I made was to give the calzone an egg white wash instead of butter which work perfectly without added fat. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
fabulous!! Use italian seasoning in bread dough - do NOT double recipe if using bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Delicious. I used 1/2 lb pork sausage, 1/2 lb beef, and pepperoni. I cooked the meats, then tossed them and the cheese with some Italian dressing/marinade. I did not worry about braiding, just folded it all up into one calzone. Brushed with some butter. SO GOOD! Did not use any sauce on the inside of this, but served with ranch and marinara for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I must've done something wrong, because my dough was way to wet and sticky. I have a standby dough recipe that I'll use next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Excellent! The bread was superb! Slightly sweet, light and tender with a nice crunchy crust. I did not use the powdered milk instead I just substituted the water with milk as suggested by other reviewers. For the filling I also added sauteed yellow peppers and onions. I made the exquisite pizza sauce from this site and served it on the side rather than putting it in the calzone. I've made calzones and stromboli several times before and this one was definitely the best! I will look not further, but will continue to use this recipe. The braiding also worked better than the traditional rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States