Bread Machine Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
They were edible, but not worth the trouble. Followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Awesome bread! We change what we put inside each time but the recipe for the bread is unbeatable. I recommend always brushing the top with butter or egg otherwise your calzones won't brown properly. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I made this for my entire family and everyone loved it. The kids are finicky, so I told them it was inside out pizza and that went over great! I used ground Jimmy Dean sausage and pepperoni (a stick cut & chopped is less expensive). I also made the bread machine recipe and the pizza crust from a tube. My husband said the bread machine was better but it would be fine to use the pizza crust and avoid "all that work". (I didn't fill him in on how easy it was.) I did make one seemingly important addition -I sprinkled seasoning on the bread before baking, I used a parmesan blend, tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chuluota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! I used ground sirloin beef instead of sausage and it was still great! I fogot to do the fancy criss cross on top, but oh well it still tasted wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe! We made two, one as suggested in the braid and one that looked like a traditional calzone pocket. Add whatever you like as filling, serve with pizza or marinara sauce on the side. Crust was so tastey, chewy but not heavy -- although my crust never got golden brown, stayed pretty pale even though it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This is the first thing I made with my bread machine & the family loved it! I added a little pepperoni to it as well. It is a nice change from pizza and if you have the time, this is definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPhipps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this TODAY, and it was a hit! I used all-purpose flour (in Canada you can instead of bread flour because our flour is higher quality - my info source, my bread machine cookbook), as I do with all my breads, and it was GREAT! Not a bread you'd eat alone, but as a wrapping, perfect. What a good simple recipe. The dough is elasticy, but not like a pizza dough. It is easier to work with. It was a bit sticky, so I just patted the outside with flour, and then it was totally easy to handle. I made it with the Italian sausage but added bell pepper, and some onion. You can tell, with the way it turns out, you could really put anything inside this that belongs on a pizza. Or even a white cream chicken sauce with some spinnach ... you probably could put apples, with sugar, and raisins inside, and sprinkle the top with sugar. Great possiblities. My husband wanted me to suggest spliting the dough in 2 or 3 so that you could cut each one in half when done, and just hold it to eat (he got an end piece, holding it like a sandwich, and felt "sorry" for the rest of us. lol What a nut!). My daughter was even able to help a bit with "painting" the bread with the melted butter, which is good cause she gotta help with EVERYTHING nowadays (she's almost 3). lol The bread is VERY filling. The whole family is stuffed, with leftovers for my hubby for work! WOW! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This came out, I'm sure, exactly as it should have. But I didn't make the criss-cross loaf thing. I made 4 fold-over circles. This dough was sticky to work with so add a little flour on your work surface. Also beware, the dough is frustratingly stretchy while trying to shape the sheet or circles. It insists on shrinking back into its former size. It baked up well but I need to tinker with perfecting my oven timing and temperature. I never made Calzones before. Quite a production. Don't even think about making this at the last minute. There is quite a lot of preperation what with the dough and the fillings and the assembly and all. I did make mine ahead in the day and laid them out on a tray, covered with plastic wrap and stored them in the fridge until baking time. They were good but I may stick to homemade pizza. That's enough work as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I made a vegetarian calzone and it tasted great and looked absolutely beautiful! It's also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARJENNINGS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very tasty, though I found the bread came out a little tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Spooky Calzone Snake

Spook your guests with this delicious snake shaped calzone!

Calzone

See how to make 5-star homemade calzones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States