Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KLFeeney
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I make these bagels all the time. I have topped them with poppy seed, sesame and "everything" - all with just a basic whipped egg-white egg wash. I usually only make six from the standard recipe. I have made the following flavor mods that have all worked out very well. For cinnamon raisin, when the add mix-in buttons beeps, I add in a 1/3 cup of raisins and 1-1/2 tsp on ground cinnamon. I actually take the dough out and manually knead all the extras in for a minute and then put them back in and let it finish kneading. For blueberry - I add about 1/2 cup of dried blueberries and do the same thing - knead some in and then put the dough back in and let it finish kneading. For Asiago - I add about 1/2 cup of grated room temperature asiago cheese - knead it in and then put the dough back in and let it finish the cycle. I let all my "versions" raise as they are supposed to, and then I add then I add 3T non-diastatic malt powder and 1T of sugar to boiling water and boil the bagels for 45-60 seconds on each side and then I dry them on cotton dishtowels before brushing them with beaten egg whites and cooking them in a 375 degree oven with a steam bath for 20-25 minutes. Enjoy the variations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLFeeney

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I have used this recipe a few times and each time they have turned out great. I add finely chopped jalapeno peppers into the bread machine (about half way through the machine process). My bread machine has an alert beep when you can add any additional ingredients. Prior to baking I also shred asiago cheese on top of each bagel. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystalball
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was my first time making bagels and I picked the perfect recipe! I made an even 8 bagels (I like even numbers and from the other reviews they sounded smallish). I omitted the poppy seeds since they always stick in my teeth. I did a brush of veg oil instead of egg white. I topped half with cinnamon sugar (a lot!), and the other half with a little sprinkle of kosher salt. They were both amazing! The only thing I should have done was to make sure the holes were a little bigger so they didn't close completely. But no harm done, they baked up perfectly at 25 minutes. I can't say how impressed I am with how well they turned out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
So simple and delicious. I topped mine with cheddar cheese. Making garlic ones next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The bagels are wonderful. We don't have a Jewish bakery here and the store bought bagels are a poor substitute for the real thing. Besides, making them myself I can actually add "everything" toppings (garlic, salt, poppy seeds and sesame seeds). I let mine rise longer so they are not so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Even tough I did double the servings to make the same amount of bagels, that way I could make them bigger. I didn't have a bread machine but that's not a problem at all, it's really easy to make the dough. I added some sesame seeds and put them in the oven for about 15 minutes in the temperature suggested, and then a couple of minutes in grill mode, 10 minutes where not enough, maybe my oven wasn't that good or because mine where bigger then the suggested in the recipe. The grill gave the bagels the brown color on the top side. The taste was great and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was awesome! I modified the cook time from another recipe. 500 oven preheat bagels in reduce to 450 eight minutes and turn sheet eight mor minutes. Let bagels sit for the fifteen and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Perfect bagels, way better than store-bought. Made 1 batch and ended up making 2 additional batches the same day to freeze for use throughout the week because they were so popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
A very good recipe for making bagels. I make a double batch using a Kitchenaid. Bagels are precision baking. Amounts, temperature and time matter. Here are changes to the standard receipe that I feel produce a better homemade bagel. 1) Increase water to 1 1/8 cup. 2) Decrease sugar by 1/3 for non-sweet bagels. (Consider the topping or how you are serving). 3) I increase salt to a tbls. (Its an important balance between the flour and salt that affects the taste/texture.) 4) 1st rise is 1 hour for non-breadmachine method. 2nd rise is 20-30 minutes after shaping. 5) Use 4.4 ounce of dough per bagel, 4.7 ounce for big bagels. To improve appearance, make a ball of dough. Stretch the top by squeezing and pinching between thumb and index finger. Poke the bottom upwards with your other hand's index finger as you pinch when closing your fist. (Looks similar to holding a small balloon in a closed hand.) Gently flatten and poke a hole in the middle. Then spin around your two index fingers. The result is a smooth top and finished bottom. 6) Boil the bagel for 45 seconds each side. 7) The egg white/2 tbls of water wash is important in producing a good color. You only need one egg white even if doubling recipe. It also helps bind your topping to the bagel. Be creative with toppings. 8) Temperature is specific to your oven. I cook 28 minutes with 2 cups of water in a preheated (hot) pan. I pass on my great respect to the fine bakers of New York and Brookline, MA that inspire us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Best EVER! I topped with the egg wash and a mix of cinnamon and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States