Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These were a surprise. As my husband left this morning with his bagel sandwich, he said "wow..they taste just like bagels! " They ended up much flatter than I would have liked but I am accounting an error I made for that. I left out the poppy seeds and used the cornmeal for the bottom and egg for the top (really gives it a nice sheen when your done) Next time I will experiment using different herbs and seasonings for the top. There are endless possibilities here! Must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Wonderful. I added an extra 1/8 cup of water and also replaced 1 cup bread flour with 1 cup whole wheat flour. I let them rest for 30 min. Just ate one for lunch with cream cheese and ham! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was my first time making bagels and I followed the recipe exactly. They were very easy to make and came out pretty good. Leftovers were a bit on the tough/chewy side, though. Thanks for this fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very good. They don't last very long so I wouldn't suggest making more then you can eat in that one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wonderful recipe thanks you and the reviews were very helpful make sure to add the extra 1/8 cup water it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Collbran, Colorado, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Best bagels I ever had. Made plain bagels cut in half and toasted, smeared them with "Jalapeno Popper Spread" from this site. Everybody raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parshall, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
WOW! No more bagel shops! Great as-is, though I might see what happens if I let the dough rise 1/2 hour before boiling. I tried sprinkling parmesan cheese on 3 bagels, cinnamon sugar on 3, and kept the remaining 3 plain. I can't believe how good these are! You are my hero! Update 9/28: this may or may not be useful - I tried adding the 1/8 cup of water for my second batch, and the dough came out sticky and very difficult to work with, so I won't be doing that again. I also measured in 1/4 cup "white" wheat flour. Should have trusted you. They still taste good, though I also forgot to sweeten the water. I've always used honey instead of sugar in bread, which worked well the first time. This time also, the bagels taste yeasty. Still experimenting - hope the first time wasn't just beginner's luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I loved these, and I can see them becoming a staple at my house. I had one misstep, in that I forgot to add the sugar to the boiling water, so they boiled for 2 minutes. Baked 20-25 minutes, and they still came out great. The more I make them, the prettier they'll be, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent! and Easy!! I made 6 bagels larger bagels instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I am an avid baker, and I've been looking for some new adventures. I have definitely conquered the bagel! This recipe is easy to follow, time consuming (but totally worth it). The bagels are chewy on the outside and soft on the inside. I made 4 different flavor varieties (Parmesan, onion and herb, salt, and cinnamon sugar) all in one batch! They all look wonderful (I've only tried to Parmesan and it's great!) The egg white and dropping ice cubes in the bottom of the oven really added a wonderful texture to the exterior. I really hope you decide to adventure into the word of the bagel! Happy Baking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States