Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I used to work in a Jewish Bakery. You should roll out the dough and then pinch to form a circle. Also, let the bagels rise for at least 1-2hrs after forming, this will enable them to take shape and not look so narly. I think 9 bagels for this amt. of dough is too much. Make 6, so they are big. The flavor was good, and its a fun thing to do with your kids, but I will stick to the bakery. Thanks for the recipe though, it was fun:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! I increased the water to 1 1/8 cups as suggested by other reviewers. We love Panera Asiago Cheese bagels, so I added 1/2 cup shredded asiago cheese to the dough, shaped them, let them rise for 30 minutes (great tip!), boiled them, then topped each with a little more shredded asiago cheese. My husband said if he didn't know I made them, he would have thought they came from the bagel shop! Since the original recipe made 9 large bagels, which are pretty big, I made them again, and divided it to make 12. They were a little smaller, but a better portion for us. I'll be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Revised: These were just like the bagels I used to get in Boston. I always double this recipe which means I have to use my kitchen aid instead of my bread machine. I let the dough rise for a 1/2 an hour, punch it down and repeat. After making the bagels into their shape I let them sit for an hour to make sure they are nice and fluffy. I usually get 9 large bagels. I used 2 tbs of molasses in the water instead of sugar. I also used olive oil glaze because the egg had a funny after taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
My husband loves these. I must admit, however, that I can't (or won't) follow directions. I made whole wheat cinnamon raisin bagels as follows: I used 2T of Splenda instead of the sugar in the beginning. I then tried to make them healthier by using 1 1/2c of whole wheat flour and 1/2c of wheat germ. I mixed it all in my Kitchenaid. Once it had all pulled together I added 1c of white bread flour about 1/4 c at a time until the whole cup was mixed in. I then added 2t of cinnamon and 3/4c of raisins. I let that all rise in a warm oven (covered) 30 minutes. I shaped them into balls, stuck a finger in the middle and placed them back in the warm oven (covered) for another 1/2 hour. I then boiled them in water with 3T blackstrap molasses as someone else recommended. I think you could probably get away with only 1T. I'll try that next time. I boiled them closer to 2 minutes each. I realized too late I didn't have any cornmeal so I just sprayed the pan real well and it was fine. I also forgot all about the egg wash which was fine too. Watch your baking time as mine didn't need 20 to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burnt Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Ballston Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Very good! I tripled the recipe, but only made 18 bagels with it. They were a great size. I made them in my KitchenAid mixer (not in a bread machine) like I make all my breads. Very yummy and chewy. They were really easy to make, as well. Just a note: They do rise in the boiling water and in the oven, so you might want to make the center hole quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This is the PERFECT bagel recipe! My husband and I could not believe how delicious they were and they tasted better than our local "Gourmet Bagel" shop. I made cinnamon raisin bagels by kneading in 1/2 cup of raisins and about 1 tbsp of cinnamon after I took the dough out of the bread machine. I could not believe how easy these were to make! We will be making them all the time and will not be wasting money on freezer or grocery store bagels, these are SO much better! Can't wait to try some with asiago cheese baked in. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I make these bagels every couple of weeks and they really are easy and delicious. My only trouble was shaping them, so now I just cut them in even squares and poke a hole in the middle. They come out a little square but I'm not entering any contest for the roundest bagel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These bagels are just as good as Panera or Einstein. I make 8 and let them rise more like 20 minutes. My first topping choice was a combo of onion flakes, coarse salt, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. We added 2t of cinnamon to our second batch and topped with cinnamon sugar. We're going to try mocha chocolate chip next. I may never have a reason to go to the bagel shop again! Thanks for publishing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
This is the first bagel recipe I have ever tried. I am Canadian but live in the U.K. where you can't get a decent bagel. I thought this recipe was excellent. I often put cheese on the top and have also tried them plain. I tried putting the cheese inside but found that it ruined them. I also only ever make 6 because I like mine a little bigger. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
These are terrific! Very easy and excellent flavor. I made 9 as the recipe said, and I topped each with cinnamon sugar, onions, or sesame seeds. I won't be going back to the bagel place...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States