Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
First time I ever made bagels! These were great. Read reviews and followed much of the advice. Thanks guys! Made 2 batches for my big family. One plain with poppy seeds. I split the next, made half with cinnamon and raisins and the other with cheese. Made 8 bagels from each batch and size was perfect too. Recipe is going into my "make again" file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made these for a Sunday breakfast. When my husband says it is a "do again" it is really good. I used half white flour and half white whole wheat flour. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing bagel recipe! This was the first time I had ever made bagels before, and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out great! I didn't change anything about it, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I've always wanted to make my own bagels but thought it would be too difficult. This was TOO EASY! I added a cup of raisins and a tablespoon of cinnamon. Next time I might cut back cause they were too sweet. I also added one and one half tsp of vital wheat gluten to make them chewier. I live and grew up in Bergen county NJ and our bagels are massive so I actually only made 4 bagels out of this recipe to get the size I was used to. They didn't rise too much but I'm sure that was my fault for playing with the dough so much when I was trying to figure out the right size. I will definitely make again and since I'll be better prepared, I'm sure they'll turn out even better. **UPDATE** So, I just made these again. I did everything the same except use less cinnamon, more vital wheat gluten, and I made six (they're so small!). Both times I've found they are very dense and chewy which I love but I just wish they would have a little more fluff to them. They barely rise in the oven. They're still fantastic but I'm striving for bagel store fantastic and I can't seem to get it. Maybe I'll go there and ask them what I'm doing wrong. BTW: I made sure not to mess with the dough nearly as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy to make! I also used 1 1/8 c. of water as suggested and let the bagels rise for about 30 minutes instead of 10. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were perfect! Added a bit more water per reviews I had read but other than that I followed it exactly. Topped with garlic powder and parsley then added a bit of cheese five minutes before they were done. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was my first attempt at making bagels and am extremely happy with the results! After reading reviews, I did follow what a lot of people suggested and let them sit a little longer after shaping. These will definitely become a regular in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Worked like a charm! The taste reminds me of Lenders bagels, I think because of the egg wash, but way, way better! I am so proud of myself since I am usually a horrible baker, but it was truly easy. Even after freezing they were still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
excellent bagels! unlike other posters, i did not make fewer bagels from this dough; i made more - eighteen to be exact. who needs a gigantic 300 calorie bagel? wanting to have some whole grain, i ground up 1/2 c. rolled oats to replace 1/2 c. flour. i also added a "glug" of molasses to the boiling water as suggested by other posters. didn't bother with the egg white (boiling the bagels in sugar water isn't to make them sweet, folks; it's to make them shiny!) about 20 minutes baking time was about right, even with the smaller size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Wonderfully light and flavorful. I surprised myself with this one. Topped with the standard everything bagel toppings (onion, garlic, poppy seeds, caraway seeds, seasem seeds in equal portions) prior to baking. I let rest for about 45 minutes or so before boiling in a warm place. That was a mistake as the holes filled in and I had to remake the holes before boiling. Next time I'll just let rest on the cabinet since we keep the house cooler. Very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States