Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
As described with recipe. No changes. Used poppy seed, sesame seed, garlic salt w asiago cheese and cinnamon (sans raisins).. only made 8 'normal' sized bagels.. left to 'rise' for over 30 min. Will double batch it and make again.. VERY chewy and tasty.. "lite" tasting! YUMMY! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Amazing. So yummy and surprisingly easy. Exactly right in terms of what everyone has said about the rising in the boiling pot thing. Really really good. I want to make 4 dozen more right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I did not use the poppy seed when I made this instead I used rasins and cinnamon. I added 1/8 cup extra water and followed the recipe for the rest of the ingredients. They turned out great and were not hard to shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Pretty good recipe. For my first time ever making bagels these were pretty good. I especially liked toasting them and eating with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
WOW. I'm a pretty experienced cook & I've made tortillas, pita, focaccia, and many other breads from scratch and this is an EXCELLENT recipe. I topped mine with sesame seeds, poppy seeds, truffle salt, parm & cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe, and surprisingly easy. I had no bread flour so I just used all-purpose. I mixed and kneaded in the bowl of a stand mixer using a dough hook, let rise for 1 hour in a warm place, formed the bagels and let rest for an additional 20 minutes before boiling. I recommend boiling a full minute per side for a chewier bagel. I made a batch each with poppy and sesame seeds, using olive oil instead of egg to make them vegan for friends. I also made a cinnamon raisin batch, reducing the salt to 1/2 TBSP, adding 1/2 C raisins (soaked in warm water) and 1 TBSP cinnamon. These disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendyearwood
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was my first attempt at making bagels. They were awesome! and oh so easy (I used my new bread machine I got for Christmas). I tried one users idea of kneading blueberries in after the "dough" cycle. With my machine, that didnt work well at all. Next time I will add more towards the beginning of the mix cycle as the dough was too stiff after it had risen and I was flinging blueberries all over the place while making the bagel hole bigger..ha ha ha. I was very impressed with this recipe and cant wait to try other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyearwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I LOVE this recipe!!! The only changes I made were to let the shaped bagels rise again about 2hrs and I didn't glaze them at all before baking. I boil them for about 1 min each side. I tried forming 12 bagels instead of the suggested nine but I prefer following the recipe and making nine as that way the bagels are more soft. Thank you for a great recipe! I've already made it five times in two weeks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I have made these bagels several times in my bread maker and they always come out very well. I'm not very careful about shaping them, and my kids like them with chocolate chips in them, so they don't look pretty, but they taste delicious! I do always use bread flour with this recipe. We cannot get fresh bagels in the town we live in, so this recipe is greatly appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was a little skeptical, as my bread machine seemed like it was having a rough time with the tough dough. However, these turned out incredible! Husband says they are better than the ones we usually buy, and I agree. Bagels are expensive in New Zealand, so if I can make them from now on, that will save us some "dough" haha! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States