Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
WOW! This is the best bagel recipe I have found so far!!! I don't have a bread machine, so I made this by hand. I proofed my yeast for 10min then added flour and salt to the mix. I kneaded the dough, covered it with a damp towel and let it rise for 30min in a warm area. After that, I punched down the dough and gave it another 30min. I only cut my dough into 6 sections (I like big bagels) and shaped them into bagels. I let them rise for another 15min and then added them to boiling water. I decided to do an olive oil wash and then added some minced garlic and pretzel salt to the tops. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. I usually use the bread machine but today I am going to try the Kitchenaid so I can make a bigger batch. The only thing I haven't quite mastered is how to make them look nice. They are the ugly bagels because the holes always close but taste as good as Einstein Bros. I'm from NJ and have tried a lot of bagels :) Today I am going to try cutting bigger holes instead of just poking through with my finger. I will update this review if it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I am so excited! These were really, really, really good. I tried making bagels @ home once a few years ago... the flavor was okay... but it was a ton of work & they looked a little funny. These, however... seem to be foolproof... and the instructions, plus tips from other reviewers have taught me so much to improve my lackluster bagel making skills. The dough seemed a little dry in the machine, but that could have been anything, not the instructions... so I added a tablespoon of warm water at a time until I saw it coming together better in the pan. I tried rolling the dough into ropes (from another reviewer) but had better luck flattening into a ball, making a hole, and stretching the dough out from there (from the recipe). Also, once I formed the bagels, I did let them sit over an hour to try to get them to be less craggy looking. Along those same lines, I did make 6 bagels though, because I wanted something to resemble big NY style bagel shop bagels. Overall, I am very, very, very pleased with this attempt and thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be trying again in another day or so once the remaining 3 are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
These are definitely a keeper for plain bagels. Very easy. I did however, mess up a little. I forgot to let them rise before putting them in boiling water. They were big already though so its all good. I made 6 because if I made 9 they would have been super small. I didn't add anything to the tops either. I didn't even brush on the egg. They were fabulous. Shaped a little funny but it was my first time making them and I will get better. Next time I will try what another reviewer suggested. Roll them into like a fat snake and pinch them off so the hole is already the right size and they wont be as deformed. :) Great recipe. Thanks! I did read some that didn't turn out well. Not sure what they did wrong. Didn't measure correctly or the humidity maybe affecting things. Mine came out perfect except for my shaping antics. These were quick and easy to make not sure why some thought it was hard. If they are too floury you used too much flour and if they got too flat its either the temperature or not enough yeast or too much. Things don't always come out the first time you make them. Try again different part of the day maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
They turned out pretty hard...maybe I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Loved this bagel recipe - easy and delicious. Purchased sesame, fennel and poppy seeds from a site called Nuts.com. Really inexpensive and received the next day. They are the perfect garnishments for these wonderful bagels - I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
these were delicious!! much better than any bagel i've ever had...ever. i did increase water to 1 1/8 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaLaraTx
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
The receipe is PERFECT. Oh it took me some practice to get the shaping, second rise, boiling, and baking down pat, but now on my 4th or 5th try I'm in HEAVEN. I'm a displaced Jersey Jew in Denton Tx, I NEED my bagels! Now that I know how to make them perfectly I am going to try a cinnemon raison version. Only comment I have is, that I've basted with olive oil, egg and misted with water. I settled on the olive oil one for cost and personal preference. The water didn't work at all, the egg works great, but I love the extra bit of chewy I get with the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I did this recipe in my KitchenAid mixer, and foolishly, just threw everything in and mixed it up...if I'd been thinking more, I would have treated it like any other bread recipe in my mixer and proofed the yeast, then added the other ingredients, since I'm not using a bread machine dough cycle. But the good news is, it still worked and I have beautiful bagels. Great recipe and I'll be experimenting with this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
These are very good and so easy! Chewy goodness. Now I don't have to buy them from the store and be disappointed. I did make some changes though, I increased my water like other reviewers suggested to. I omitted the sugar and used 2 tsp non-diastatic malt powder in the dough and 1-2 Tbsp of the malt powder in the water instead. I didn't have any bread flour on hand so used AP flour and added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten flour and I didn't brush with egg. After they came out of the water, I just dipped the rounder side in topping of choice (onions for me) and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States