Bread Machine Bagels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Lindsey
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
YUM!! I basically followed the directions with the exception that I added a tbsp of baking soda and a tbsp of sugar to the boiling water. I also dunked em in an ice bath after boiling (after reading various articles on the topic on the web including the one here on allrecipes). Oh and no bread machine here I used my Kitchen Aid mixer and dissolved the yeast in the warm water with the sugar prior to adding salt and flour. Although to me they should have been a bit denser they were delicious, chewy and soft and I will for sure make again. I only got 9 sorta smaller bagels, next time I will try 6-7 bagels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Love this recipe, I will definately make them again...tomorrow ! Only change would be double the rising time to 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
First time I ever made bagels! These were great. Read reviews and followed much of the advice. Thanks guys! Made 2 batches for my big family. One plain with poppy seeds. I split the next, made half with cinnamon and raisins and the other with cheese. Made 8 bagels from each batch and size was perfect too. Recipe is going into my "make again" file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made these for a Sunday breakfast. When my husband says it is a "do again" it is really good. I used half white flour and half white whole wheat flour. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Amazing bagel recipe! This was the first time I had ever made bagels before, and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out great! I didn't change anything about it, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I've always wanted to make my own bagels but thought it would be too difficult. This was TOO EASY! I added a cup of raisins and a tablespoon of cinnamon. Next time I might cut back cause they were too sweet. I also added one and one half tsp of vital wheat gluten to make them chewier. I live and grew up in Bergen county NJ and our bagels are massive so I actually only made 4 bagels out of this recipe to get the size I was used to. They didn't rise too much but I'm sure that was my fault for playing with the dough so much when I was trying to figure out the right size. I will definitely make again and since I'll be better prepared, I'm sure they'll turn out even better. **UPDATE** So, I just made these again. I did everything the same except use less cinnamon, more vital wheat gluten, and I made six (they're so small!). Both times I've found they are very dense and chewy which I love but I just wish they would have a little more fluff to them. They barely rise in the oven. They're still fantastic but I'm striving for bagel store fantastic and I can't seem to get it. Maybe I'll go there and ask them what I'm doing wrong. BTW: I made sure not to mess with the dough nearly as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious and easy to make! I also used 1 1/8 c. of water as suggested and let the bagels rise for about 30 minutes instead of 10. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
These were perfect! Added a bit more water per reviews I had read but other than that I followed it exactly. Topped with garlic powder and parsley then added a bit of cheese five minutes before they were done. Sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was my first attempt at making bagels and am extremely happy with the results! After reading reviews, I did follow what a lot of people suggested and let them sit a little longer after shaping. These will definitely become a regular in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Worked like a charm! The taste reminds me of Lenders bagels, I think because of the egg wash, but way, way better! I am so proud of myself since I am usually a horrible baker, but it was truly easy. Even after freezing they were still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States